Weather Forecast


MN gets new head of Chamber of Commerce

Joe Maher will lead the Minnesota Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors as its 2012-13 chair. He is general manager of UPM, Blandin Paper, in Grand Rapids.

Maher was among the new officers and board members seated at the board's annual planning retreat in August.

The volunteer board represents businesses of all types and sizes across Minnesota.

These business leaders set public policy priorities for the business community, carry the message for the statewide business community to the State Capitol, and develop resources and strategies to ensure businesses in Minnesota can grow and succeed.

Other Minnesota Chamber officers are: chair-elect - Jeff DeYoung, Baker Tilly Virchow Krause LLP, Minneapolis; secretary-treasurer - Todd Paulson, RTP Company, Winona; immediate past chair - Jon Campbell, Wells Fargo & Co., Minneapolis. "The Minnesota Chamber of Commerce offers business solutions to help companies advocate, connect and grow," Maher said. "We represent and advance the interests of all sizes and types of businesses across the state."

Directors elected to their first three-year terms were: Christopher Masciantonio, United States Steel Corp., Mountain Iron; Tami Paulsen, Paulsen Architects, Mankato; Jill Renslow, Mall of America, Bloomington; Steve Rush, Holiday Companies, Minneapolis; Ken Sorensen, Mortenson Construction, Minneapolis; Clyde Swain, Comcast, Minnetonka; Kris Taylor, Ecolab, St. Paul; Tom Tierney, Tierney Brothers Inc., Minneapolis; Charlie Zelle, Jefferson Lines, Minneapolis.

"Minnesota businesses are challenged to compete in today's global economy," Maher said. "Budget and spending reforms remain at the forefront of our efforts. We must ensure that Minnesotans are receiving the greatest value for their tax dollars. The Minnesota Chamber continues to lead on efforts to strengthen the business environment and improve the lives of all Minnesotans."