Weather Forecast


LP-A FCCLA advances to nationals

Lake Park-Audubon Family Career and Community Leaders of America students participated in the state conference, with many advancing to the nationals.

The LP-A Family Career and Community Leaders of America attended the Minnesota FCCLA state convention April 23-25 in Bloomington.

Fifty-four members, plus their advisor Cheryl Hogie, and assistant advisor Lori Bartunek and parent-chaperones Mary Veit, Dale Hogie and Laureen Svobodny, attended several informational and training sessions including Michael Wade Smith, Rhett Laubach, Youthrive and Joy Friedman.

Over 1,400 FCCLA members across the state of Minnesota attended the convention. Lake Park Audubon FCCLA chapter received recognition for being the chapter in the Minnesota that raised the most funds for the National "Feed the Children" program and a Silver Level award for their yearly chapter work.

LPA members that attended the convention had advanced from Region 6 STAR events competition to the state convention. Members winning Gold medals and advancing to the National Competition in Orlando in July include Emily Haverkamp, Allison Gunderson, Dylan Svobodny, Lorin Ronken, Brett Lage, Bryce Lunde, Braeden Hogie, Chelsey Raaen, Ashley Thompson and Caitlyn Wavra at the Senior High Level, and Maria Veit, Andrea Knudsvig, Kelsey Anderson, Elijah Beaudine, Beau Svobodny, Bryce Bartunek, Greg Olson, Dylan Omvig, Michael Livdahl, Alexis Schermer, Kaylin Vettelson, Annie Krueger, Chelsea Cossette, Elisabeth Peterson, and Breann Hogie at the junior high level.

Those making it to the finalists round and receiving Gold Medals were Maegan Anderson, Carissa Raaen, Angela Carson, Chloe Rieger, Chloe Hanson and Ashley Mattson at the Junior High level.

Those receiving Gold medals in their events were Marley McDunn, Haylie Gunderson, Rachel Carlson, Meaghan Rowcliffe, Brianna Wuollet, Maddie Dahlin, Lydia Danielson, Emily Sunram, Hayley Kapusta, Rachel Carlson, Bailee Bartnek, and Alexis Walz.

Those receiving Silver medals in their events were Megan Erickson, Hailee Hovde, Katey Hilfer, Sarah Johnson, Jenna Seley, Jessie Larson, Mitch Knudsvig, Joe Anderson, Dolgor Buyantuyeva, Grace Clark, Lindsey Olson and Rebecca Schermer.

Talent performers advancing from Region 6 included Braeden Hogie, Lorin Ronkin and Brett Lage. They sang and performed a musical selection for the Friday evening Talent Show. Dance talent performers advancing from Region 6 included Megan Erickson, Chloe Rieger, Jenna Seley, Cairlyn Wavra, Maddie Dahlin and Jessica Larson.

Jessica Larson was selected as the Region 6 Vice President and Sarah Johnson was selected as the Region 6 Secretary.