Weather Forecast


LP-A sets new state record

LP-A students Chloe Hanson, right, and Brenn Hogie second from right, were elected Region 6 officers at the state FCCLA convention. (Submitted photo)

The LPA Family Career and Community Leaders of America attended the Minnesota FCCLA State Convention April 15-17 in Bloomington.

Fifty-two members, plus their advisor, Cheryl Hogie, and assistant advisor Lori Bartunek, and parent-chaperones Mary Veit, Dale Hogie and Deb Larson, attended several informational and training sessions including "Sam Glen, Peter Bloedel, Bana Yahnke, Jacalyn Sticha State Highway Patrol, and Glen Lenn."

Over 1,500 FCCLA members across the state of Minnesota attended the convention. Lake Park Audubon FCCLA chapter received recognition for five different National Program Application Awards and a Silver Level award for their yearly chapter work.

LPA members that attended the convention had advanced from Region 6 STAR events competition to the state convention. Members winning gold medals and advancing to the National Competition in Chicago in July include: Hailee Hovde, Kate Hilfer, Kaylin Vettelson, Morgan Bowers, Chloe Rieger, Angela Carlson, Ashley Mattson, Chloe Hanson, Chelsey Raaen, Ashley Thompson, Caitlyn Wavra, Maria Veit, Andrea Knudsvig, Kelsey Anderson, Elijah Beaudine, Beau Svobodny, Bryce Bartunek, Greg Olson, Dylan Omvig, and Michael Livdahl at the Senior High Level, while Lydia Danielson, Emily Sunram, Hayley Kapusta, Bailee Bartunek, Alexa Walz, Maegan Anderson, Emma Ulmer, Elisabeth Peterson, and Breann Hogie advanced at the Junior High Level.

Those making it to the Finalists Round and receiving gold medals were: Brianna Wuollet, Maddie Dahlin, Rachel Carlson, Stephanie Cossette, Jessica Larson, and Hayley Gunderson.

Those receiving gold medals in their events were: Amanda Stone, Nellie Branchaud, Carissa Raaen, Brittany Risland, Katie Haverkamp, Jackson Nelson, Dylan Larson, Jacob Huseman, Kelsi Swetland, Chanel Lunde, Sarah Johnson, Jenna Seley, Typhanie Schaefer, Mitch Knudsvig. Those receiving Silver medals in their events were: Joe Anderson, Amber Christensen and Jessica Dalen.

Talent performers advancing from Region 6 included: Maria Veit. She sang and performed a musical selection for the Friday afternoon Talent Show.

Chloe Hanson was elected the new Region 6 president, and Breann Hogie was elected the new Region 6 vice president. They will be a part of the 2010-11 Region 6 Officer Team.