Weather Forecast


Piano students tickle those ivories and head for competition

Shea Henderson, left, is the young Artist winner, and Emma Ulmer is the Senior A scholarship winner. Submitted Photo

Participants in the honors piano and senior scholarship recital March 3 include

• Pre-primary: Alex Erickson (pre-primary)

• Primary: Nathan Cihak, Abby Larson, Luisa Walz, Sylvia Pesch, Katelyn Schaefer

• Junior A: Gabby Frederickson, Kylee Price, Sophia Gunderson, Josie Sletmoen, Jaden Schaefer, Anna Cihak • Junior B: Breanna Price, Emily Larson

• Intermediate B: Lexie Jenson

Senior Scholarship Recital

• Senior A: Emma Ulmer

• Young Artist winner: Shea Henderson

Anna Cihak, received her first Gold Cup, meaning she has earned a Superior rating for her third year.

North Dakota Junior Composer 2013 contest winners

The North Dakota Federation of Music Clubs announces the following winners in the Junior Composers Contest.

All compositions are original with a recording of a tape or CD. Many of the Class III (ages 13–15) and Class IV (ages 16-18) have orchestration or added instruments with the piano solo. There were no entries in Class IV.

Dr. Michael Wittgraf from the University of North Dakota was the NDFMC State judge.

All first and second place winners have been sent on to the Regional Chair, which includes seven states in the North Central Region.

Class I participants include Grace Gunderson, second place; Olivia Gunderson, first place; Abby Larson, fourth place.

Class II participants include Anna Cihak, first place; Sophia Gunderson; Emily Larson; Breanna Price.

Class III participants include Tori Tinjum.

Students who earned first and second place will go on to Regionals for another round of judging. Regionals includes six other states.

Anna Cihak received her first Gold Cup, which means she has earned a Superior rating for the third year.