Sections

Weather Forecast

Close

Auditions for DL's 'West Side Story' set on Sept. 9-12

Detroit Lakes Detroit Lakes,Minnesota 56501 http://www.dl-online.com/sites/all/themes/dlonline_theme/images/social_default_image.png
Detroit Lakes Online
Auditions for DL's 'West Side Story' set on Sept. 9-12
Detroit Lakes Minnesota 511 Washington Avenue 56501

The classic American musical, "West Side Story," is coming to Detroit Lakes Public Schools this fall.

Auditions for the fall musical begin Wednesday, Sept. 9, and continue through Saturday, Sept. 12. Students in grades 6-12 will be involved in this year's production, which will be staged on Saturday, Oct. 31, Thursday, Nov. 5, Friday, Nov. 6 and Saturday, Nov. 7 at 7:30 p.m., as well as a matinee performance on Sunday, Nov. 1 at 3 p.m.

Audition materials will be available for pickup at Detroit Lakes High School (DLHS) starting today (Wednesday, Sept. 2). Sign up sheets will be posted on the choir room doors of both the High School and Detroit Lakes Middle School (DLMS).

The daily audition and practice schedule is as follows:

• Wednesday, Sept. 9: Acting auditions, DLHS, 4:30-6 p.m.; DLMS, 7-9 pm. Dance practice, DLMS, 4:30-6 p.m.; DLHS, 7:15-8:15 p.m.

• Thursday, Sept. 10: Acting auditions, DLHS, 4:30-6 p.m.; DLMS, 7-9 p.m. Dance practice, DLMS, 7:30-9:30 p.m.

• Friday, Sept. 11: Acting auditions, DLHS, 4:30-6 p.m.; DLMS, 7-9 p.m. Dance practice, DLMS, 6-8 p.m.

• Saturday, Sept. 12: Acting auditions, DLMS, 9-11 a.m. Dance practice, DLMS, 9-11 a.m. Dance auditions, DLMS, 11 a.m.-12 noon and 1-2 p.m.

The cast list will be posted by 7 p.m. Sunday, Sept. 13 at both the Middle School and High School.

Advertisement