Weather Forecast


Jeff Johnson announces campaign leadership team

Jeff Johnson, Republican-endorsed candidate for governor, today announced his campaign leadership team.

The team is made up of seasoned political operatives and prominent business people.

Steve Sviggum and Michelle Benson will serve as co-chairs of the campaign. Sviggum is a former Speaker of the Minnesota House, and Benson is a current State Senator. Benson also was a candidate for Lieutenant Governor, running for the Republican endorsement with Dave Thompson.

Scot Crockett is serving as campaign manager. Crockett is a veteran of numerous political campaigns, including gubernatorial races in New York and Montana, and a congressional race in Minnesota.

Gregg Peppin of P2B Strategies will serve as senior campaign advisor, and Randy Skoglund of the Orange Hat Group leads all digital media activities. Peppin has over 25 years of experience in Minnesota politics. Skoglund is a veteran of numerous political campaigns both in and out of Minnesota, and of the Republican Party of Minnesota.

Chairing the Finance Committee are Jeffery DeYoung, Stephen Imholt, and Gregg Peterson. Jeanette Purcell, a veteran political fundraiser, is leading fundraising efforts.

“Our team can be described simply: professional and competent,” said Jeff Johnson.