Weather Forecast

The 2009 Mid-State champions are the Detroit Lakes boys' cross country team. They include (L to R)Luke Wiebolt, Brandon Olson, Leif Johnson, Mike Okeson, Dylan Ramstad-Skoyles, Travis King and Wesley Bakken.

Laker boys' cross-country wins Mid-State crown

Email News Alerts

Members of the Detroit Lakes boys' cross country team all have a new signature on their phone texts after this past Wednesday -- Mid-State Conference champions.


The 17-year drought was snapped Wednesday as the Lakers became Mid-State Conference champions.

"That was a fun bus ride home," said senior Leif Johnson, who also took home the top individual honors with his 16:18.28 time.

"We worked as a team and we got to the top."

Are you a newspaper subscriber but you don't have a Digital Access account yet?

You will need your subscription account number and phone number. Not sure if you have an account? Email us at and we can help you.