Weather Forecast

Winners of the 2010 Resorter golf tournament that was completed Saturday, August 7 were (l-r) Donald Constable, Men's Division; Jon Freeman, Executive Men's Division; Jon Empanger, Senior Men's Division; Lincoln Johnson, Junior 10-12 Division; Matthew Bennett, Junior 13-15 Division; Sarah Roering, Women's Division; and George Mikesh, Masters' Division. Photo by Al Edenloff, Alexandria Echo Press.

Resorters Tournament crowns six new champions

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
Detroit Lakes, 56501
Detroit Lakes Minnesota 511 Washington Avenue 56501

ALEXANDRIA, Minn. - Seven champions were determined in the Resorters Golf Tournament at the Alexandria Golf Club today, Saturday.

Six of them are first-time champions.


Only Jon Empanger of Chaska has won a Resorters division before and he now has seven trophies - five in the Executive Division and two in the Senior Men's Division.

This year's champions are:

• Men's Division - Donald Constable of Deephaven. He defeated Jim Lehman Jr. of Plymouth, last year's division winner, 6-4 in the final. (In this morning's semifinals, Constable defeated Dominic Todora of Woodbury 5-4, while Lehman defeated Jack Dressen of Edina 5-4.)

• Women's Division - Sarah Roering of Glenwood. She defeated Maggie Leland of Alexandria, last year's division winner, 4-3 in the final.

• Executive Men's Division: Jon Freeman of Chanhassen. He defeated Dave Dilley of Alexandria 6-5 in the final.

• Senior Men's Division: Jon Empanger, the division's defending champion. He defeated Greg Mattson of Becker 1-up in the final.

• Masters' Division: George Mikesh of Scottsdale, Arizona. He defeated Tom Eidsvold of Alexandria 1 up in 20 holes in the final.

• Junior Ages 13-15 Division: Matthew Bennett of Marshall. He defeated Tommy Brandabur of Minnetrista 5-4 in the final.

• Junior Ages 10-12 Division: Lincoln Johnson of Chaska. He defeated Sam Franklin of Maple Grove 2-up in the final.

The Alexandria (Minn.) Echo Press is owned by Forum Communications Co.