Weather Forecast


Members selected, announced for new Feeding Minnesota Task Force

Minnesota Agriculture Commissioner Gene Hugoson has named nine members to serve on the new Feeding Minnesota Task Force. The group is charged with developing a plan to take surplus food and resources and disperse it to those in need.

"We know in tough economic times more people may need the services provided by food shelves and non-profits," said Hugoson. "We want to create ways to utilize our agricultural resources to help ease the additional strain on these organizations and help those in need."

The nine-member task force represents varied backgrounds and expertise in food and agriculture. The first meeting of the group is planned for mid-September.

Those selected to serve on the Feeding Minnesota Task Force include:

• Food Banks: Paul Gifford, Hope for the City;

• Food Producer & Grower Organizations: Marilyn Nysetvold-Johnson, Minnesota Fruit and Vegetable Growers Association; Pamela Benike, Prairie Hollow Farm;

• Farmers' Markets: Ronald Branch, Minnesota Farmers' Market Association;

• Higher Education: Elton Mykerezi, University of Minnesota;

• Food Transportation: John Hausladen, Minnesota Trucking Association;

• Statewide Agricultural Organizations: Chris Radatz, Minnesota Farm Bureau Federation; Thom Petersen, Minnesota Farmers Union;

• Food Processor: Lexann Pryd-Kakuk, Gold'n Plump Poultry.