Weather Forecast


LPA band students participate in festival

The 2010 Sub-Section 6 3A Fall Festival Honor Band and Choir was held Friday and Saturday, Oct. 15-16, on the campus of Minnesota State University-Moorhead.

The 130-member choir and 75-member band were comprised of senior high choral students from Sub-Section 6 3A schools.

Participating high schools were Barnesville, Hawley, Pelican Rapids, Glyndon-Dilworth-Felton, Ulen-Hitterdal, Rothsay, Perham and Hillcrest Academy.

Lake Park-Audubon High School band students participating in the two day choral festival were Kelsi Swetland, Caitlyn Wavra, Zach Hovde, Korey Mickelson, Josh Leendertsen, Jamon Beske, Kal Larson, Autumn Ricke, Mason Nelson, Mike Quam and Sudney Schiffner. LPAHS choir students participating in the festival included Heather Pearson, Typhanie Schafer, Emily Sunram, Paige Omvig, Kaylin Vettleson, Morgan Bowers, Elijah Beaudine, Jacob Tomczak, Greg Olson and Ben Rodriguez.

The guest band director was Dr. Sigurd Johnson from North Dakota State University and the choir director was Dr. Paul Nesheim from Minnesota State University-Moorhead. The final public concert was held at 11:00 a.m. in Hansen Theater on the campus of MSUM.

Haglund selected for 'Anacrusis' All-State Choir

Lake Park-Audubon Junior High School student Tory Haglund (grade 8) auditioned and was selected for the 2010 Minnesota Boys All-State "Anacrusis" Choir. This is a top state honor for a junior high singer. Haglund rehearsed many hours before attending the Boys Honor choir.

The boys choir was directed by Mr. Christopher Fettig, choral director at Bemidji High School, Bemidji, Minnesota. Mr. Fettig is exemplary in his field for his contributions to choral music through honor choirs, as an adjudicator, and performer.

The choir rehearsed throughout the day November 19 culminating in a spectacular concert at Ritchie Auditorium on the campus of St. Cloud State University, St. Cloud, Minnesota. The concert was at an outstanding level. The student musicianship and vocal quality of the choir was extremely high!

Tory is a member of the LPAHS junior choir. The Lake Park-Audubon High School choral director is Diane Jordan. The choir is sponsored by members of the Minnesota American Choral Directors Association.