Weather Forecast


AgCountry Farm Credit will award 24 farm scholarships

AgCountry Farm Credit Services will award 24 $1,000 scholarships to high school seniors from eastern North Dakota and northwest and west central Minnesota who plan to enroll in college next fall.

Applicants must be from a farming/ranching family or plan to pursue a career in farming or some other aspect of agriculture. Scholarships will be given away to Minnesota residents in Becker, Beltrami, Big Stone, Clay, Clearwater, Douglas, Grant, Hubbard, Kittson, Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Ottertail, Pennington, Polk, Pope, Red Lake, Roseau, Stevens, Todd, Traverse, Wadena or Wilkin Counties.

In North Dakota scholarships will be awarded to residents in Barnes, Cass, Cavalier, Dickey, Grand Forks, Griggs, LaMoure, Nelson, Pembina, Ramsey, Ransom, Richland, Sargent, Steele, Stutsman, Towner, Traill, or Walsh Counties.

Selection is based on academic record, personal attributes, vocational promise, leadership and financial need.

The deadline for applications is March 1, and recipients will be announced in early April. Students may obtain scholarship application forms from their high school counselor, by calling any AgCountry Farm Credit Services office, or from AgCountry's Web site --

AgCountry Farm Credit Services is an independently owned and locally governed lending institution that provides credit and financial services to more than 12,000 farmers and ranchers in 18 counties in eastern North Dakota and 25 counties in northwest and west central Minnesota.

AgCountry also provides agribusiness loans and leases in 35 states. Branch offices are maintained in 27 locations throughout the territory.

The company, headquartered at 1900 44th St. S., Fargo, N.D., has managed assets in excess of $3.9 billion and more than 400 employees.