Weather Forecast


2007 city committees appointed

Detroit Lakes Mayor Larry Buboltz appointed council members to new committees for 2007 and 2008.

The community development committee is now chaired by Matt Brenk. Other members are Jim Anderson, Walt Tollefson and G.L. Tucker.

Aldermen Bruce Imholte (chair), Brenk, James Hannon and Ron Zeman will be on the street and park committee.

For the finance committee, it's Anderson (chair), Dave Aune, Leonard Heltemes and Imholte.

The Public safety committee is Aune (chair), Heltemes, Imholte and Tucker.

The Liquor and gambling control committee consists of Heltemes (chair), Hannon, Tollefson and Zeman.

The council approved the re-appointment of Brenk as vice mayor for 2007.

Also at the council meeting, the council voted to:

• Approve the amendment of the police department section of the city code. Rather than a chief, captain and sergeant, there will now be a chief and three sergeants.

• Approve a conditional use permit to allow a planned unit development of seven twin homes on Long Lake.

• Table the second reading and adoption of a building maintenance code ordinance because more information needed to be gathered.

• Table a resolution for an environmental review process because new information had just been received from the Department of Natural Resources and the Pelican River Watershed District.

• Set a special meeting for Jan. 23 at 5 p.m. relative to street and utility improvements on portions of Minnesota Avenue, Langford Street, Lincoln Avenue, Lyndale Avenue, Front Street, Oak Grove Avenue, State Street and Parkview Street.