Weather Forecast


Results are in: Township elections

Though six Becker County townships may have opted to move their official elections from March to November this year, 31 others did not.

With the exception of Eagle View, Evergreen, Forest, Maple Grove, Round Lake and Savannah townships, all others held their elections this past Tuesday, March 11.

The results from those 31 elections have now been canvassed, certified and submitted to the Becker County Auditor's Office.

As expected, there were few upsets, with the majority of incumbents being elected to another term in office. In most townships, there were elections held for one township clerk (two-year term) and one township supervisor (three-year term).

One upset did occur, however. In Toad Lake Township, incumbent clerk Eugene Bartel was defeated by challenger Debra Wacker.

Wacker received 22 of the 38 ballots cast, or 58 percent of the vote, while Bartel had 16 votes (42 percent). Incumbent supervisor James Yliniemi, meanwhile, was unopposed in being re-elected to another three-year term in office.

There were also a number of contested races in this year's election.

In Lake Eunice Township, for instance, incumbent supervisor James Renslow faced some competition from a pair of challengers, Joe Lightowler and David Opsahl.

With 101 ballots cast, Renslow nevertheless brought in 53 votes, or 52 percent of all ballots cast. Opsahl was his closest challenger, receiving 36 votes, while Lightowler captured the remaining 12 votes.

Incumbent clerk Crystal Myers also faced a challenger this year, from Lisa Rietsema. Myers received 64 of the 101 ballots cast, with the remaining 37 votes going to Rietsema.

In Runeberg Township, incumbent supervisor Robert Christiansen also faced a pair of challengers, but managed to bring in 27 of the 48 votes cast (56 percent). Challengers John Haataja and Pat Butler received 33 percent and 10 percent of the vote, respectively.

Clerk Kristine Spadgenske, meanwhile, had an easier time of it, receiving all but one of the votes cast.

In Burlington Township, incumbent supervisor Kathleen Froelich faced a challenge from Mike Murphy, and won. She received 67 of the 91 votes cast (74 percent). Angela Ewanika, who was running unopposed, was also re-elected as township clerk.

In Carsonville Township, incumbent supervisor Mike Branstrom held off a pair of challengers to win re-election to another three-year term. With 24 ballots cast, Branstrom received 19 of them, or 79 percent of the vote, while challengers John French and Dan Pachel split the remaining votes evenly between them.

Clerk Helen Drewes also won re-election solidly, with 20 ballots cast in her favor (87 percent). Barbara Wilson and Joe Mack also received votes.

In Height of Land Township, incumbent supervisor John King received a solid 18 of 24 votes cast (75 percent), with the remaining six votes going to write-in candidate John Bergstrom. Kathy Stenger, running unopposed, was re-elected to another two-year term as clerk.

Other townships reported their results as follows:

Atlanta: Incumbents Mike Splonskowski, supervisor, and Jeff Bates, clerk, both running unopposed, were re-elected, each receiving 15 votes.

Audubon: Incumbent supervisor Jerry Lunde was elected to another three-year term, while clerk Becky Schouviller-Felker received 13 votes to win another two-year term. Bruce Hein also received a vote for supervisor.

Cormorant: Supervisor Tim Erickson and clerk Claudia Hanson were both re-elected, receiving 41 and 43 votes, respectively. Don Lawyer also received a couple of write-in votes for supervisor.

Cuba: Steve Mattson and Wesley Torgerson were both unanimously re-elected, as supervisor and clerk, respectively.

Detroit: Incumbents Eugene Pavelkko and Barbara Schmidt, running unopposed, were re-elected as supervisor and clerk, respectively.

Erie: Clerk Barb Moser, running unopposed, was elected to another two-year term as clerk. James Thomson, also running unopposed, was elected to his first three-year term as supervisor.

Green Valley: Burt Hill and Gloria Hines, both incumbents, were unanimously re-elected as supervisor and clerk, respectively.

Holmesville: Clerk Carolyn Kohler and Supervisor Tom Holweger each received 17 votes to win their respective bids for re-election. Votes were also cast for Dick Jenson as supervisor and Tina Hanson as clerk.

Lake Park: Supervisor Eddie Rian and Clerk Dale Binde were both unanimously re-elected, to terms of three and two years, respectively.

Lake View: Running unopposed, incumbent supervisor David Knopf and clerk Laurel Niemi were both re-elected.

Osage: Rick Nason and Margo Boyd, running unopposed for township supervisor and clerk, respectively, were both re-elected.

Pine Point: Each seeking four-year terms, incumbent Clerk Gertrude Maninga and Supervisor Todd Yliniemi were both unanimously re-elected. Starting in 2009, Pine Point will begin holding its township elections in November.

Riceville: Running unopposed, Supervisor Tom Bergren and Clerk Doris Schermerhorn, both incumbents, were re-elected to their positions.

Richwood: Supervisor William McCaslin and Clerk Richard Zurn, incumbents who were each running unopposed, both received a unanimous vote to win another term in office.

Shell Lake: Supervisor Al Cherpich and Clerk Melanie Pihlaja were both unopposed in seeking re-election to their positions. They each received 32 votes.

Silver Leaf: Incumbents Duane Johnson, supervisor, and Jacqueline Graham, clerk, were both re-elected to another term in office, receiving 11 votes each.

Spring Creek: Mitch Ballard, clerk, and Bob Haverkamp, supervisor, were both unopposed in seeking re-election, receiving 100 percent of the vote.

Spruce Grove: Incumbents Dale Huwe, clerk, and Arnold Huwe, supervisor, were each re-elected to another term. Arlen Huwe received a vote for supervisor.

Sugar Bush: Supervisor James Davidson was elected to another three-year term as supervisor, receiving 24 votes. Write-in candidate Steve Roberts also received a couple of votes for supervisor.

Two Inlets: Roxann Eischens, supervisor, and Adeline Retz, clerk, both running unopposed, were each re-elected to another term, with 15 votes each.

Walworth: Seeking to replace the late township clerk, Stanley Hamernik, Michael Lockhart won his first two-year term in office, receiving seven votes. Randy Moore also received eight votes in his bid for a three-year term as supervisor. Dwight Fevig also received a vote for the clerk's position.

White Earth: Supervisor Russell Kent and clerk Karen Levebvre were both re-elected to terms of three and two years, respectively, while Doug Fabre was elected to a one-year term as supervisor.

Vicki Gerdes

Staff writer at Detroit Lakes Newspapers for the past 16 years, currently editor of the entertainment and community pages as well as covering city council and the Lake Park-Audubon School Board. Living in DL with my cat, Smokey.

(218) 844-1454