Weather Forecast


MDA releases results of wheat council election

Three new board members have been elected to the Minnesota Wheat Research & Promotion Council Board (MWRPC) after nearly 300 wheat growers voted last week.

The Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) administers the election and certifies the ballots. The winners who will serve three-year terms include:

n Area I: Rhonda K. Larson, East Grand Forks (re-elected); Tim Sedlacek, Warren.

n Area II: Pete Kappes, Ada (re-elected).

Minnesota wheat producers also voted against a referendum to increase their promotional check-off. The referendum was proposed by the MWRPC to change the present check-off rate of one cent per bushel to 0.5% of the net sale value. By rejecting the proposed check-off rate increase, the current check-off of one cent per bushel will remain in effect.

Through the mandatory check-off program, farmers pay a percentage of their sale proceeds to their commodity council. Commodity councils use these funds to pay for promotion, communication and research activities aimed at increasing crop value for growers.