Weather Forecast


Tuesday is the last day to file for county offices and for the Frazee-Vergas School Board.

Tuesday is the last day to file for county offices and for the Frazee-Vergas School Board.

A host of candidates have lined up to run for four seats on the Frazee-Vergas School Board, which is holding an Aug. 10 primary election this year.

They are (as of Friday morning) Richard Ziegler, Don Thorp, Chris Wacker, Matt Bauer, James R. Nelson, Carey Alger, Kevin Litzau, Rick Dekarski, Mary Lepisto, Kenny Fett and Brenda Como.

The seats are currently held by Nancy Dashner, Dwight Cook, Ziegler and Thorp, who was appointed to fill a seat vacated by Kathryn Kallis.

The filing fee is $2 at the administration office at the high school.

There will be an Aug. 10 primary election for Beckeer County commissioner districts 2 and 4.

Five men have filed for the District 4 seat on the County Board: Brad Grant, Donald Skarie, Bob Spilman, Richard A. Grossman and incumbent John Bellefeuille.

District 4 encompasses Ward 1, Precinct 1 in Detroit Lakes (including the east shore of Long Lake) the city of Audubon; Detroit Township; and Audubon Township.

Four people -- Cyndi Anderson, John C. Okeson, Harry Salminen and William "Gerry" Anderson -- have filed for the District 2 seat.

Salminen had said he did not plan to run for re-election, but apparently changed his mind.

District 2 encompasses Detroit Lakes City Ward 2, Precinct 1; Detroit Lakes City Ward 3, Precinct 1 (including some big chunks of annexed land not on Long lake) and Lakeview Township.

Sheriff Tim Gordon has filed for re-election, as has Auditor-Treasurer Ryan Tangen, Recorder Darlene Maneval, County Attorney Mike Fritz, Becker County District Judge Joe Evans, and County Surveyor Roy Smith.

The filing fee for county offices is $50 at the Becker County Auditor-Treasurer's Office in the Courthouse.

Jerome Flottemesch and Don Lefebvre have filed for seats on the Becker Soil and Water Conservation District Board.