Weather Forecast


Three new faces on Waubun School Board

Waubun-Ogema-White Earth School Board will welcome three new faces come January.

The top vote getter in Tuesday's election was Jonathan Syverson who received 649 votes or 19.6 percent.

Christie Haverkamp came in second at 616 votes, or 18.6 percent.

"I was not expecting that at all. I expected to do well but I didn't expect to do that well," she said.

Another newcomer, Stacy Bly, grabbed 590 votes or 17.81 percent.

"I'm pretty excited. I think everybody who got in is gonna do the best they can for the schools," Bly said.

Incumbent Mark Rothschadl received 583 votes or 17.60 percent. He will be serving a second four-year term.

This year's election in the Waubun-Ogema-White Earth School District brought out 3,312 voters, including 33 write-ins. Superintendent Mitch Anderson said the turnout appeared higher than other area districts similar in size. Compared to the 2008 election, he said this year's higher voter turnout was a pleasant surprise considering it was a non-presidential election.

"Some of that is attributed to the changes happening at the high school," he said, adding that there have been a lot of communication between community members on the turnaround changes that have gotten people interested in what's going on behind the scenes.

Out of seven people who originally filed for candidacy, six ended up running for the election. All of the interested candidates have children in the school system.

Incumbent Barb Fabre withdrew her application and decided not to run. Tammy Winter's second term will be up, as well as Jim Helliksen's.

Anderson said the new board members who will replace the three incumbents will be invited to special training sessions in December and January.

"It'll be a learning curve for sure for three of them," he said.

Bly said that right off the bat she will work hard on getting parents more involved in students' academic lives.

"I don't think there is enough parent communication with the teachers," she said.

Others on the ballot were Mina Spalla and Danielle Clark who got 490 and 351 votes respectively.