Weather Forecast


April 1 is deadline for Everyday Hero, Harris award nominations

You know them. They are your neighbors, your friends, your co-workers.

They sit in our classrooms. They deliver your mail. People who carry on with their daily lives and at the same time they are touching someone else's.

The person who faces adversity and is inspired to help others. The person who devotes himself or herself to make life better for someone else.

They are the Everyday Heroes who make Becker County a better place to live.

Help recognize Becker County's unsung heroes by nominating your favorite -- man or woman -- for the Everyday Hero Award.

The United Way accepts nominations in two categories, Adult and Youth (ages 6-18). Awards will be given out at the United Way's Celebration of Heroes on Thursday, April 28.

Past Everyday Hero Award recipients include Joy Peterson (adult) and Tom Zearly (youth)in 2002; Marcia Otte (adult) and Elizabeth Pihlaja (youth) in 2003; Brenda Houts (adult) and Andrew Fonderick (youth) in 2004; Linda Livingston Wiedewitsch (adult) and Madison Erickson, Ciara Grant and Jenna Mohs (youth) in 2005; Cindy Sauer (adult) and Austin Gedrose, Hannah Gedrose, McKenzie Gedrose and Jon Melgaard (youth) in 2006; Tammie Jenson (adult) and Whitney Westley (youth) in 2007; Sue Berg (adult) and Abby Einerson (youth) in 2008; Becky Williams (adult) and Heather Neumeister and Ally Nielsen (youth) in 2009; Michele Baker (adult) and Matt Padrta (youth) in 2010.

Also to be honored at the Celebration of Heroes is the 2011 Bob & Michelle Harris Award winner. Bob and Michelle Harris were tireless and enthusiastic supporters of United Way of Becker County. This award was created in their honor and is given annually to a person who has demonstrated the leadership, community involvement, and hometown spirit that was personified by both Bob and Michelle.

Previous Harris Award winners include Jim Anderson (2002), Rick and Kathy Michaelson (2003), Delores Smith (2004), Tom Thompson (2005), Jim Sinclair and Luann Porter (2006), Cyndi Anderson (2007), Dixie Johnson (2008), Jerry Schutz (2009) and Mike Herzog (2010).

There are so many people who we all know that are deserving of these awards. Please take a few minutes to nominate them. Deadline for submission is Friday, April 1. Nomination forms can be found online at

Mail your completed form to United Way of Becker County, PO Box 348, Detroit Lakes MN 56501, or e-mail it to

For more information, call United Way Executive Director Luann Porter at 218-846-7400.