Weather Forecast


Burning restrictions lifted in area counties May 18

The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR) will lift burning restrictions for some north-central Minnesota counties next week.

Effective at 8 a.m. on May 18, residents in Aitkin, Becker, Cass, Carlton, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Otter Tail and Wadena counties may burn with a valid permit.

While DNR restrictions will be removed in these eight counties within the next week, municipalities and cities may decide to lift restrictions at a later date.

The northernmost counties of the state will remain under burning restrictions until enough new vegetation appears in fields and on trees to reduce fire danger.