Weather Forecast


Grant beats incumbent for Audubon mayor

1 / 3
2 / 3
3 / 3

In one of Becker County's few contested municipal races, challenger Brad Grant defeated incumbent Jeff Quam in the battle for the title of Audubon's mayor.

When all of the votes were counted, Grant had received 148 votes (66 percent) to Quam's 72 votes (32 percent). A total of 5 write-in ballots cast accounted for 2 percent of the vote.

Though he had no "words of wisdom" to impart early this morning, Grant did have this to say: "It was good to see interest in both the city council race and the mayor race, and I'm looking forward to serving the citizens of Audubon to the best of my ability."

Three people were also vying for two open positions on the Audubon City Council at Tuesday's elections.

Incumbent Jason Leucuta was the top vote-getter with 144 votes (41 percent), while Tony Gordon earned the other open seat with 110 votes (32 percent).

""I would like to thank the community of Audubon for all of its support," said Leucuta.

"After seeing such strong turnouts at the polls, I will push even harder this term to make this town a better place to live. I believe the new council will work well together, reaching all goals set towards this fine community and its future."

Though he didn't win, Joshua Heibel, the third candidate, managed a respectable 91 votes (26 percent). Only 3 write-in ballots were cast, accounting for less than 1 percent of the total vote.

In other results, Lake Park-Audubon School Board members Darrel Pederson and Bryan Anderson were both re-elected to another four-year term, while Cara Bjerken was elected to her first term and will replace outgoing board member Dale Binde.

Pederson received 391 votes (34 percent), Anderson, 383 votes (33 percent), and Bjerken 361 votes (31 percent). All three were running unopposed.

Lake Park City Council member Aaron Wittnebel will ascend to the mayor's chair next year, after receiving 194 votes in his uncontested bid for that position.

Also running unopposed, Amy Degerstrom and Jon Anderson were also elected to four-year terms on the Lake Park City Council. Degerstrom received 184 votes, while Anderson earned 195.

Vicki Gerdes

Staff writer at Detroit Lakes Newspapers for the past 16 years, currently editor of the entertainment and community pages as well as covering city council and the Lake Park-Audubon School Board. Living in DL with my cat, Smokey.

(218) 844-1454