Weather Forecast


Zima elected to Waubun School Board; Berg is mayor

An uncontested Andrew Berg will remain mayor of Waubun after receiving 94 percent of the votes against a 6 percent write-in total on Tuesday.

Berg, who was a city council member, took over as mayor this past June after then-mayor William Eck left office.

Betsy McDougal was then appointed to fill his council position until the election. McDougal then ran for the position and won with 50.19 percent of the vote.

Mary Riegert also won a seat being vacated by Dean Bishop with 46 percent of the vote.

They will be two of the four members that make up the city council -- Jean Horack and Thomas Bement are in the middle of their four-year terms.

The Waubun school board also has a new face.

John Joseph Zima, a truck driver from the White Earth Lake area, will join the board as the top vote-getter in the election, earning 29 percent of the total votes cast.

Zima, who graduated from Waubun in 1981, has lived there his whole life and says he wanted to join the school board to help ensure the district is controlling spending, keeping taxes lower and see to it that kids are "getting back to the basics."

"I'm a Tea Party-type of conservative, and I talk a good game," said Zima. "People told me to put my money where my mouth was, and so I did. Property taxes keep going up and up here, and I just think some of this spending can be put off until times are better."

Current school board members Allan Haugo and Joe McArthur kept their seats, earning 27 percent and 23 percent of the vote, respectively.

Challenger Kami Lhotka came in at 21 percent.

One of those three seats up for grabs was left open by Tom Tyken, who did not seek re-election.