Weather Forecast


Two incumbents, one newcomer elected to Perham School Board

Candidates for Perham School Board faced one of the most competitive local races, with eight -- including all three incumbents -- vying for just three open seats.

With 100 percent of precincts reporting late Tuesday, it was revealed that incumbents Cindy Huber and Sue Von Ruden will keep their seats, and newcomer Vince Pankonin will take incumbent Arnie Thompson's spot.

According to unofficial numbers, Huber received the most votes with 2,665, followed by Von Ruden with 2,603 and Pankonin with 2,238.

Thompson came in fourth with 1,939 votes. Other candidates included Eric Ashcraft, with 1,237 votes, Clint Fultz with 1,044, James Mulcahy with 865 and David Reitmeyer with 841.

The race for Perham City Council was a little quieter, with three incumbent candidates running unopposed for three open seats -- two on the city council and one for mayor.

Mayor Tim Meehl was reelected for another 2-year term, while councilors James Johnson and Eric Spencer will be back for 4-year terms.

Unofficial election results as of Tuesday night, with 100 percent of precincts reporting, showed Meehl with 1,137 votes, Johnson with 957 and Spencer with 817. There were 20 write-ins for mayor and 15 for the council.

All three candidates have said keeping property taxes down is a top priority; the councilors also feel the city will need to continue to address its infrastructure needs.

Otter Tail County Correspondent Tom Hintgen and Focus Editor Marie Nitke contributed to this report.