Weather Forecast


School Board Recognition Week at LP-A

The Minnesota School Boards Association has set Feb. 18-22 as School Board Recognition Week in Minnesota as a time to build awareness and understanding of the vital function an elected board of education plays in our society.

The Lake Park-Audubon school district is joining all public school districts across the state to celebrate School Board Recognition Week and to honor local board members for their commitment to our community and its children.

"Our school board members devote countless hours to making sure our schools are helping every child learn at a higher level," Superintendent Dale Hogie said.

"They make tough decisions every month and spend many hours studying education issues and regulations in order to provide the kind of accountability our citizens expect."

Superintendent Hogie said the key work of school boards is to raise student achievement by:

Creating a vision for what the community wants the school district to be and for making student achievement the top priority;

Establishing standards for what students will be expected to learn and be able to do;

Ensuring progress is measured to be sure the district's goals are achieved and students are learning at expected levels;

· Being accountable for their decisions and actions by continually tracking and reporting results;

· Creating a safe, orderly climate where students can learn and teachers can teach; and

· Focusing attention on the need for continuous improvement by questioning, refining and revising issues related to student achievement.

"School board members give the Lake Park Audubon citizens a voice in education decision makin," Hogie said.

"Even though we make a special effort to show our appreciation in February, their contribution is a year-round commitment."

Please express your gratitude to our Lake Park Audubon Board of Education members when you have an opportunity. The members serving our district and their titles are as follows:

· Vicky Grondahl - Chair, Bryan Anderson - Vice-Chair, Darrel Pederson - Clerk, Mike McIntire - Treasurer, and members Jeff Swetland, Rich Veit, and Cara Bjerken.