Weather Forecast


Republican legislators endorse Jeff Johnson

Jeff Johnson, Minnesota’s Republican-endorsed candidate for governor, has earned the public support of 28 current Republican legislators and 16 former GOP legislators.

More Republican legislators are supporting Johnson than the other GOP gubernatorial candidates who will appear on the Aug. 12th primary election ballot.

“Jeff Johnson has a rock-solid conservative record and will be a rock-solid conservative governor,” said state Sen. Michelle Benson (R-Ham Lake), who is co-chairing Johnson’s campaign. “Republicans need a candidate who has what it takes to beat Mark Dayton and then immediately step in and right the ship for Minnesota families and businesses. Jeff Johnson is that candidate.”

“Born and raised in a small town in Minnesota’s lake country and spending the past several years of his life in the suburbs, Jeff Johnson understands and has strong ties to both metropolitan and greater Minnesota,” said former state Representative and House Speaker Steve Sviggum (R-Kenyon), who is also co-chairing Johnson’s campaign.

“Jeff Johnson is a true statewide candidate, and as our governor he will represent and serve the best interests of all of Minnesota.”

Current Republican legislators endorsing Johnson include: Sen. Michelle Benson (Ham Lake), co-chair, Jeff Johnson for Governor; Sen. Roger Chamberlain (Lino Lakes); Sen. Paul Gazelka (Nisswa): Sen. Dan Hall (Burnsville); Sen. David Hann (Eden Prairie), Senate Republican Leader.

Also: Sen. Mary Kiffmeyer (Big Lake); Sen. Scott Newman (Hutchinson); Sen. Sean Nienow (Cambridge); Sen. David Osmek (Mound); Sen. Branden Petersen (Andover); Sen. David Senjem (Rochester); and Sen. Dave Thompson (Lakeville).

On the Minnesota House side, Rep. Sarah Anderson (Plymouth); Rep. Mike Benson (Rochester); Rep. Kurt Daudt (Crown), House Republican Leader.

Also:  Rep. Steve Drazkowski (Mazeppa); Rep. Sondra Erickson (Princeton); Representative David FitzSimmons (Albertville); Rep. Glenn Gruenhagen (Glencoe); Rep. Jerry Hertaus (Greenfield); Rep. Ron Kresha (Little Falls); Rep. Jim Newberger (Becker); and Rep. Joyce Peppin (Rogers).

Also, Rep. Cindy Pugh (Chanhassen); Rep. Duane Quam (Byron); Rep. Linda Runbeck (Circle Pines); Rep. Mark Uglem (Champlin); and Rep. Anna Wills (Apple Valley).

Former Republican legislators endorsing Johnson include:

Sen. William Belanger (Bloomington); Rep. Fran Bradley (Rochester); Rep. Ray Cox (Northfield); Rep. Randy Demmer (Hayfield); Sen. Steve Dille (Dassel); Sen. David Gaither (Plymouth); Rep. and U.S. Rep. Gil Gutknecht (Rochester); Sen. John Howe (Red Wing); Sen. Gary Laidig (Stillwater); Sen. Lyle Mehrkens (Red Wing); Rep. Michelle Rifenberg (La Crescent); Rep. Connie Ruth (Owatonna); Rep. Char Samuelson (New Brighton); Rep. and State Commissioner of Education Alice Seagren (Bloomington); House Speaker Steve Sviggum (Kenyon), co-chair, Jeff Johnson for Governor; Rep. John Tuma (Northfield).

Johnson was born and raised in Detroit Lakes, and lives in Plymouth with his wife, Sondi, and their two teenage sons. Johnson, a small business owner and attorney, has been a Hennepin County commissioner since 2009 and was a state representative from 2001-2007.