Weather Forecast


Lake Park-Audubon board members honored

Members of the Lake Park-Audubon School Board were honored during their regular February board meeting this Tuesday, February 18, 2014 as part of Minnesota School Board Recognition Week, Feb. 17-21. The current board members include (left to right) Jeff Swetland, Darryl Pederson, Vicky Grondahl, Mike McIntire, Cara Bjerken and Bryan Anderson. Not pictured: Rich Veit. DL NEWSPAPERS/Vicki Gerdes

The Minnesota School Boards Association has set Feb. 17-21 as School Board Recognition Week in Minnesota as a time to build awareness and understanding of the vital function an elected board of education plays in our society.

Lake Park-Audubon joined all public school districts across the state in celebrating School Board Recognition Week to honor its local board members: Vicky Grondahl (board chair), Mike McIntyre, Bryan Anderson, Darryl Pederson, Richard Veit and Cara Bjerken.

The key work of school boards is to raise student achievement by:

  • Creating a vision for what the community wants the school district to be and for making student achievement the top priority;
  • Establishing standards for what students will be expected to learn and be able to do;
  • Ensuring progress is measured to be sure the district’s goals are achieved and students are learning at expected levels;
  • Being accountable for their decisions and actions by continually tracking and reporting results;
  • Creating a safe, orderly climate where students can learn and teachers can teach;
  • Forming partnerships with others in the community to solve common problems;
  • Focusing attention on the need for continuous improvement by questioning, refining and revising issues related to student achievement.