Weather Forecast


4-Hers honored at banquet

The 2011 Becker County 4-H Program year culminated with the annual Achievement Program held November 20th in Detroit Lakes.

Kimberly Wegleitner, Kiwanis president, was on hand to offer a word of encouragement and to give a cash award in support of 4-H in Becker County.

Throughout the afternoon, 4Hers were recognized for records completion, accomplishments at the state events including the Minnesota State Fair, the State Shoot, State Dog and Horse Shows, and various other awards.

Top Secretary's Awards were given to Katie Ullmer, Busy Bees; and the Lage Family, Cloverdale. Lane Ulmer, Franklin; and Eric Zachariason, River Valley; received the Top Treasurer Award. Four graduating seniors were given the Iver Warling $100 Scholarship and Plaque, including: Carolyn McCormack, Happy Hillside; Amber Sunram and Dannon Yliniemi, Northern Lights, and Eric Zachariason, Rivery Valley.

Adult volunteers were recognized for their years of service. The Silver Clover for 5 years of service was awarded to Randy Wold, Cloverdale and Mary Lewis, River Valley; Gold Clover for 10 years of service to Henry VanOffelen, Happy Hillside; Pearl Clover for 15 years of service to Sara VanOffelen, Happy Hillside; Karen Erickson, River Valley; Deb and Terry Clark,  and Leah Lymburner; Diamond Clover to Anna Brown, Busy Bees; Mickey Okeson, Cloverdale and Mary Ann Jorgenson; Emerald Clover for 25 years to David Zick; Ruby Clover for 30 years to Trudy Maninga and JoLynn Nilson, and Sapphire Clover for 35 years to Jim Griffnow and Paul Nilson.

Dannon Yliniemi achieved the Key Award which is given to top 4Hers in the county who are at least 16 years old, have completed 5 or more years of 4-H and three years of junior leadership.  Key Award winners must have been involved in citizenship, leadership, and 4-H promotion in their club and county as well as being involved on the district and state level.

The "I Dare You" award was presented to Bailey Yliniemi. This award recognizes youth who have taken the "extra step" in leadership and gives winners an additional incentive to train for leadership, to accept responsibility and to become outstanding citizens. As an award winner, Bailey qualifies to attend Leadership Camp.

To close out the program, the Franklin 4-H Club presented a brief skit as an invitation to area clubs to participate in "Share the Fun" in the spring of 2012.

For information on the 4-H Program in Becker County, contact the Becker County Extension Office, at 218-846-7328. They are presently enrolling members for the 2012 program year.