Sections

Weather Forecast

Close
Advertisement
Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts

wave Detroit Lakes, 56501

Detroit Lakes Minnesota 511 Washington Avenue 56501

Changes in the law will put some further restrictions on teenagers with provisional driver's license.

Mom, dad and teenagers should read on.

Advertisement
Advertisement

You should already be aware that a person under age 18 driving with a "provisional driver's license" has a requirement of that all passengers under age 18 have a seat belt or child passenger restraint system properly fastened.

Another restriction these drivers have that you should already be aware of is they may not operate a vehicle while communicating over, or otherwise operating, a cellular or wireless telephone, whether handheld or hands free when the vehicle is in motion. (There is an exemption allowed for emergencies.)

So here are the big changes.

Statute 171.055 subd 2 (d) "For the first six months of provisional licensure, a provisional license holder may not operate a motor vehicle carrying more than one passenger under the age of 20 years who is not a member of the holder's immediate family.

"For the second six months, the holder of the license may not operate a motor vehicle that is carrying more than three passengers who are under the age of 20 years and who are not members of the holder's immediate family.

"This paragraph does not apply if the provisional license holder is accompanied by a parent or guardian."

Clause (e) "For the first six months of provisional licensure, a provisional license holder may operate a motor vehicle between the hours of midnight and 5 a.m. only when the license holder is:

n driving between the license holder's home and place of employment;

n driving between the license holder's home and a school event for which the school has not provided transportation;

n driving for employment purposes; or

n accompanied by a licensed driver at least 25 years of age."

As you can see the law now restricts the number of passengers and times our new drivers can drive. From my point of view, it is about time this law was passed.

Here are some simple tasks to help you avoid being in a crash: turn on your lights; drive sober; stop talking on the cell phone; slow down; and because not every driver out there is as careful as you, buckle up.

If you have any questions concerning traffic related laws in Minnesota send your questions to Trooper Andy Schmidt, Minnesota State Patrol, 1000 Highway 10 West, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501-2205, or e-mail andrew.schmidt@state.mn.us.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement