Weather Forecast


Becker County, others added to DNR burning ban list

The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR) is adding more counties to the list of those designated for burning restrictions.

Beginning April 20, restrictions will go into effect in the following 13 counties: Aitkin, Becker, Beltrami, Carlton, Cass, Clearwater, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Itasca, Mahnomen, Ottertail, Polk (that portion south and east of County Road 6 from the Manhomen County line to MN Hwy 92 east to the Clearwater County line), St Louis (that portion south of county road 16), and all of Wadena county.

Burning restrictions were previously announced for Benton, Douglas, Grant, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Pine, Pope, Stearns, Stevens, and Todd counties and will take effect on April 16.

Restrictions are currently in effect for Anoka, Chisago, Isanti, Sherburne, Washington and Wright counties.

These restrictions are put in place each spring to reduce the occurrence of wildfires, which can damage homes and other personal property.

Due to snowmelt, warming weather, and dry vegetation, much of Minnesota is at increased risk of wildfires. The risk will remain high until green vegetation emerges. Until that time, no burning will be allowed in the affected counties unless a special permit is obtained from a local forestry office.

While debris burning will be curtailed, the use of campfires, if smaller than 3 feet in diameter and 3 feet in height, will continue to be allowed. Permits are not required for this type of fire if it meets the above conditions and is monitored until coals have cooled.