Weather Forecast


Ojibwe Forests Rally national event a big hit in Detroit Lakes

Rally drivers Ken Block and Alex Gelsomino catch some big air during a Saturday stage at the Buffalo River Race Park. BRIAN BASHAM/DL NEWSPAPERS1 / 7
The 425 car driven by Adam Yeoman and Jordan Schulze turns a sharp corner at Buffalo River Saturday. BRIAN BASHAM/DL NEWSPAPERS2 / 7
The 20 car driven by Andrew Comrie-Picard and Jeremy Wimpey broke down just at the end of a stage and needed to be pushed off the track at the Buffalo River Race Track Saturday. BRIAN BASHAM/DL NEWSPAPERS3 / 7
The 377 car driven by Mason Moyle and Ryan Scott speeds around a turn. The Ojibwe Forests Rally began on Washington Avenue in Detroit Lakes Friday evening. BRIAN BASHAM/DL NEWSPAPERS4 / 7
Popular Rally driver Ken Block signed autographs for droves of people on Washington Avenue before the start of the Ojibwe Forests Rally Friday afternoon. BRIAN BASHAM/DL NEWSPAPERS5 / 7
Ojibwe Forests Rally spectators video cars as they speed by at a spectator viewing area deep in the woods of southern Clearwater County. BRIAN BASHAM/DL NEWSPAPERS6 / 7
Co-driver Stephen Quin hammers at a bent jack-holder during a pit stop Saturday afternoon. BRIAN BASHAM/DL NEWSPAPERS7 / 7

Hoonigan Racing’s Ken Block and Alex Gelsomino built a commanding lead at the Ojibwe Forests Rally in Detroit Lakes on Aug. 23-24, and finished first overall – the first ever career Ojibwe Forests Rally victory for Block and his third straight overall win in the Rally America National Championship.

Block drove a relatively problem-free event and enjoyed being first on the road with a dust-free path ahead of him. The other teams were not as lucky, as hope for rain never materialized to minimize the dust.

Block pushed hard to establish his lead and finished 5:33.2 over second place Subaru Rally Team USA.

Block is in the midst of a furious comeback in the Rally America National Championship points standings. The Hoonigan Racing driver fell behind Subaru Rally Team USA at the beginning of the season with multiple mechanical failures, but has since won the Susquehannock Trail Performance Rally, New England Forest Rally, and now the Ojibwe Forests Rally.

Though Subaru Rally Team USA still leads the standings as the Lake Superior Performance Rally (LSPR) returns to the Rally America National Championship calendar, setting the stage for Subaru Rally Team USA and Hoonigan Racing to decide who holds the Rally America title.

Said Block, “I had some bad luck at the beginning of the year and it came to be that I needed to win four-in-a-row to win the Championship.

“I’ve done three of the four. I’m stoked to be in this position and looking forward to having a good showdown with (Subaru Rally Team USA) at the last event.”

Subaru Rally Team USA’s David Higgins and Craig Drew had a chance to lock up the Rally America title, but battled through blinding dust on the first day of the event.

A scary moment occurred on the second day when Higgins lost power steering and injured his hand, which painfully prevented him from shifting the car smoothly. In addition, a vehicle rolled over Higgin’s ankle during a roadside repair and Higgins walked around with a noticeable limp.

But the team pressed on to a hard-fought second place podium spot.

“We came here to win, we don’t want to settle for second best,” said Reeves, “Rhianon has been great on the pace notes and the car has performed admirably.”

The 2WD podium was completed with Dodge Neon SRT4 driver Chris Greenhouse and co-driver Peter Watt in second place, and Scion Racing Rally xD’s Andrew Comrie-Picard and Jeremy Wimpey in third.

Greenhouse and Comrie-Picard traded positions multiple times during the event, but Greenhouse kept driving a clean race while Comrie-Picard dealt with flat tires and a rollover. Comrie-Picard currently leads the 2WD standings, but now needs to win at LSPR to take his first 2WD title. Greenhouse comfortably keeps third place in the 2WD standings.

In the Super Production (SP) Class, local Minnesota resident Nick Roberts took his first ever class win in his rookie season while using a new co-driver, Steve Quin.  Roberts is a candidate for Rally America’s Rookie of the Year and this class win strengthens his bid.

Longtime 2WD driver Dillon Van Way, with co-driver Andrew Edwards, switched to the SP Class at Ojibwe for the first time and finished only 19.7 seconds behind Roberts.

Rally America’s youngest driver, Mason Moyle, with co-driver Ryan Scott, took SP third place for his fourth podium finish this season, and keeps his second place position in the SP standings.

Some notable top national teams failed to finish the Ojibwe Forests Rally, and that gave others opportunities to capitalize. Rockstar Energy Drink Rally Team’s Antoine L’Estage and Nathalie Richard entered with a new Subaru rally car and held third overall, until an electrical failure prevented the car from starting at stage 9.

Indonesian driver Rifat Sungkar with co-driver Steve Lancaster suffered a head gasket leak on the second day that put them out of sixth place overall.

Attrition struck the SP Class when current SP points leaders David Sterckx and Karen Jankowski blew their engine on stage 1. The team reentered the second day and finished tenth overall, and 4th in SP.

The 2012 Super Production champions, Lauchlin O’Sullivan and Scott Putnam suffered a mechanical failure and were unable to continue on the second day of the event.

Michigan drivers Henry and Cynthia Krolikowski won the Paul Bunyan’s Ride and 10,000 Lakes Regional Rallies.

Team Honda Research engineer James Robinson, with co-driver James Guitar took a sixth consecutive B-Spec Championship win in their 2009 Honda Fit.

In the Manufacturers’ Championship, Ken Block’s overall victory helped Ford close the gap with Subaru, which leads the standings. After Ojibwe, Subaru leads with 112 points and Ford now has 94 points. Each manufacturer must drop one event.

The Lake Superior Performance Rally – the seventh and final round of the Rally America National Championship- takes place on Oct. 18-19 in Houghton, Mich.

Rally America is proudly supported by Subaru of America, Ford Racing, VP Racing Fuels, Honda Development Research, GrimmSpeed, Exedy Racing Clutches and Teleblend.

Top competitors in the Rally America National Championship reach speeds of well over 100 mph driving highly modified street cars such as Mitsubishi Evolutions, Subaru WRX STI’s, Ford Fiestas, Honda Fits and Scion xD’s on natural-terrain courses consisting of gravel, dirt, ice or snow.

For more information regarding Rally America’s National Championship or the sport of performance rally, visit

Follow @DLNewspapers on Twitter