Weather Forecast


All-Star football game June 27: DL's Schnathorst an assistant coach on Out-State team

The 36th Annual Minnesota High School All-Star Football Game will be held at 7 p.m. on Saturday, June 27 at Husky Stadium, on the campus of St. Cloud State University.

The kick-off will be at 7 p.m. This will be the fifth year that St. Cloud State has hosted the All-Star Football Game.

Detroit Lakes offensive coordinator and line coach Vern Schnathorst will be an assistant coach for the Outstate team.

The All-Star Football Game will showcase outstanding senior players from the 2008 high school football season.

Players and coaches representing 77 schools and 31 conferences will participate in this year's game.

They were selected by members of the Minnesota Football Coaches Association.

The 2009 All-Star Game will be the 36th in the current annual series and the 47th overall.

For the 30th year, the game will feature the Metro

All-Stars versus the Outstate All-Stars.

Through 29 games, the Outstate All-Stars lead the series 15-14.

In the 2008 game, quarterback Greg Morse of St. Paul Como Park threw for 200 yards and connected on two touchdown passes, rallying the Metro All-Stars to a 22-17 victory over the Outstate All-Stars, which was head coached by Detroit Lakes' Flint Motschenbacher.

All-Star rosters

Outstate roster: Christian Metz (Cambridge-Isanti, DB), Isaac Dolan (Tracy-Milroy-Balaton, QB), Chad Peterson (Winona, RB), Dakota Fiene (Lakeview, DB), Tydan Storrusten (Pelican Rapids, QB), Jordan Smith (Willmar, WR), Kyle Melcher (Owatonna, RB), Joe Vuicich (Virginia, DB), Todd Bestgren (Rochester Lourdes, LB), Jay Hillbrands (MACCRAY, WR), Travis Nordhus (Rochester Mayo, WR), Aaron Lindahl (Benson, DB), Damon Andrews (Triton, WR), Miles Drake (Cook County, DB), Matt Moenkedick (Verndale, LB), Aaron Richter (Mankato West, WR), Ryan Goetzinger (Caledonia, LB), Derek Wilfahrt (New Ulm Cathedral, DB), Taylor Freetly (K-M-S, TE), Jake Gibbons (Becker, RB), Kevin Lindh (Houston, RB), Skyler Murray (Duluth East, RB), Kris Olson (Foley, DL), Tyler Lang (Glencoe-Silver Lake, LB), Colby Ring (Brainerd, RB), Nic Johnson (Litchfield, RB), Tony Nelson (Cambridge-Isanti, DL), Mark Broden (Fertile-Beltrami, DL), Jake Lee (Blue Earth, OL), Brandon Murphy (New London-Spicer, OL), Justin Knakmuhs (Westbrook-Walnut Grove, DL), Brent Cole (Warroad, OL) Nick Zamudio (Le Sueur-Henderson, DL), bruce Koepp (Belle Plaine, DL), Mike Downing (Duluth East, OL), Richard Lilla (Rochester John Marshall, DL), Josh Johnson (Blooming Prairie, OL), Sam Dooyema (Luverne, OL), Kevin Vaadeland (Park Rapids, TE), Nate Zuk (Moose Lake/Willow River, LB), Tyler Gimmestad (Marshall, OL), Cole Jirik (Northfield, DL), Matt Wicklund (Two Harbors, DL).

Head coach: Mark Esch, Mankato West.

Assistant coaches: James Cortez (KMS), Jason Freed (Houston), Todd Oye (Luverne), Vern Schnathorst (Detroit Lakes), Scott Tschimperle (Glencoe-Silver Lake).

Honorary coach: Deryl Ramey (Willmar and Brainerd).

Metro roster: Seth Mathis (Anoka, LB), Marcus Binns (Cretin-Derham Hall, RB), Chase Vogler (Rosemount, DB), Ian Goldsmith (Mounds View, DB), Tate Christopherson (Osseo, DB), Blair Townsend (Coon Rapids, QB), Taylor Nelson (Minnetonka, TE), James Peterson (Blaine, QB), A.J. VanVoorhis (Champlin Park, DB), Averey Duncan (St. Bernard's, RB), Garrett Glaus (Rosemount, DB), Tyler Swanson (Lakville North, WR), Luke DeWall (Stillwater, PK/DB), Varmah Sonie (Apple Valley, DB), Chris Osborn (Eagan, WR), Mike McNamee (Lakeville South, LB), Montez Wilkerson (Hopkins, WR), Harry Pitera (Cretin-Derham Hall, LB), Ismail Karon (Minnetonka, LB), Chris Leivermann (Waconia, DB), Terrell Sinkfield (Hopkins, RB), Brett Skoog (Orono, LB), Brandon Meath (Totino-Grace, DB), Tobi Saporu (Blaine, DL), Stephen Johnson (Mahtomedi, RB), Mike Willett (Woodbury, LB), Matt Garin (Eastview, DL), Bryce Nelson (Simley, OL), Kyle Mulrooney (Andover, DL), Jared Cross (Champlin Park, DL), Spencer Harris (DeLaSalle, DL), Eric Dooley (Eagan, OL), Rob Bathe (Wayzata, OL), Lucas Martynec (Hill-Murray, OL), Dijon Sanders (Eastview, OL), Tom Olson (Totino-Grace, OL), Bruce Manz (Buffalo, OL), Thomas Flack (Burnsville, DL), Cooper Wahlo Jr. (Woodbury, WR), Alex Jensen (Eastview, TE), Jordan Larson (St. Paul Central, LB), Logan Marks (St. Thomas Academy, OL), Steve Parks (Apple Valley, DL).

Head Coach: John DenHartog, Hopkins.

Assistant coaches: Marc Franz (Rogers), Dic Gaughran (Eden Prairie), Dave Hopkins (Holy Family Catholic), Beau LaBore (Woodbury), Mike Zweber (Lakeville North).

Honorary coach: Stan Skjei (Bloomington Jefferson).