Weather Forecast


Pine to Palm: Olafson leads Mid-Am qualifying

Fargo's Jay Olafson shot an even-par 71 Monday to hold the lead in the newly-formed Pine to Palm Mid-Am division, being played at the Detroit Country Club.

Otis Hesteness of Audubon trails by one stroke with a 72, while Scott McNealy of Portola Valley, Calif., Todd Schaefer of Grand Forks and Kent Fronk of Jamestown, N.D., each shot a 73 in the qualifying round.

Mid-Am qualifying continues through today, with the medalist being crowned later this afternoon and the field of 16 set.

Championship Flight golfers start their first qualifying round today and will continue through Wednesday, as well as the Senior Division golfers.

Match play in the Championship (64 players), Mid-Am (16), Seniors (16) and numbered flights start Thursday morning and be played through Sunday.

Several Seniors played their qualifying round Monday, as well, as Detroit Lakes' Bill Blake shot the lowest with a one-over par 72.

There are six defending champions vying for another shot at a Pine to Palm banner. They include defending champion Ben Freeman, Rick Kuhn (2006), Chris Braaten (2004), Greg Melhus (2003), Chad Skarperud (2000) and Mark Halverson (1995).

There also was a hole-in-one made during the qualifying rounds Monday by William Modrich on hole 14, a 156-yard shot using an eight iron.

Witnessing the shot were John Bergquist, Chad Kosin and Ken Astrup.

Mid-Am Monday qualifying results

Qualifying round for Mid-Am Division: Jay Olafson (Fargo) 71, Otis Hesteness (Audubon) 72, Scott McNealy (Portola Valley, Calif) 73, Todd Schaefer (Grand Forks) 73, Kent Fronk (Jamestown) 73, Randy Hanson (Frazee) 75, Aaron Burnside (Detroit Lakes) 75, Thomas Solien (Moorhead) 76, Scot Moores (Alexandria) 76, Jim Davidson (Calabassas, Calif) 76, Craig Stein (Moorhead) 77, Frank Campbell (Lake Elmo) 77, Matthew Ericksen (Wheaton) 77, Duane Geiger (Faribault) 78, Pat Mach (Minot) 80, Eric King (Atlanta, Ga.) 80, Rick Samson (West Fargo) 84, Mark Ericksen Jr. (Cincinnati, Ohio) 87, Peter Bologna (New York, NY) 88, Michael Ericksen (Kensington, England) 90, Bill Rieckhoff (Cedar Rapids, Iowa) 91, Dave Collins (Houston, Texas) 92.

Monday Senior qualifying rounds: Bill Blake (Detroit Lakes) 72, Jeff Tweeton (Perham) 73, John Schwankl (Battle Lake) 73, Mike Stirling (Fargo) 73, Rick Johnson (Moorhead) 74.