Weather Forecast


Hornet grapplers second in Wahpeton

The season started off where the Frazee wrestling team left off last year -- fighting for a championship.

The Hornets finished as the Wahpeton individual tournament runners-up to West Fargo, after placing 11 of 14 wrestlers in the top six of their respected weight divisions.

"I was happy with how the tournament went," said Frazee head coach John Barlund. "Our strength this year will be our balance."

Four Frazee grapplers wrestled their way to the finals, with Myrel Schermerhorn picking up the lone championship in the 135-pound class.

Schermerhorn preserved his top seed in the tournament and defeated No. 2 James Wright of Grand Forks Sacred Heart 5-1 in the title bout.

No. 10 state ranked Tanner Ellenberg was runner-up in the 119 slot, after the tournament's No. 3 seed, Dillon Solberg of Wahpeton won in the finals on a 3-2 decision.

Rij Koehnen -- ranked No. 7 in Class 1A -- also earned silver in the 140 after dropping a close bout in the championship to New York Mills' 'Jordan Novak, 3-1.

No. 4 state ranked Kody Lafraniere/Sorenson was also runner-up after being pinned by Tyler Lehmann of West Fargo in 3:35.

Other Frazee placers included Jordan Ketter (sixth, 112), Bruce Lemon (third, 125), Tyler Ziegler (145, fifth), Cody Piper (152, sixth), Jake Schermerhorn (160, fifth), Brandon Vanwatermulen (171, fourth) and Mike Moltzan (215, fifth).

Hornet results

Wahpeton individual tournament, Friday-Saturday, Dec. 4-5.

1 West Fargo (ND) 256.0

2 Frazee 193.0

3 Fergus Falls 159.0

4 New York Mills 150.0

5 Lisbon (ND) 144.5

6 Wahpeton (ND) 129.0

7 Border West 107.5

8 Minnetonka 93.5

9 Grand Forks Central (ND) 89.5

10 Minnehaha Academy/DeLaSalle 74.0

11 Brookings (SD) 62.0

12 Breckenridge 56.0

13 Barnesville 50.0

14 Sisseton (SD) 39.0

15 Kindred (ND) 34.0

16 Fargo Shanley (ND) 16.0

Frazee individual results -- 103: Isaac Schermerhorn (DNP)...112: Jordan Ketter (sixth)...119: Tanner Ellenberg (second)...125: Bruce Lemon (third)...130: John Dual (DNP)...135: Myrel Schermerhorn (Champion)...140: Rij Koehnen (second)...145: Tyler Ziegler (fifth)...152: Cody Piper (sixth)...160: Jake Schermerhorn (fifth)...171: Brandon Vanwatermulen (fourth)...189: Kody Lafraniere/Sorenson (second)...215: Mike Moltzan (fifth)...HWT: Tyler Hanson (DNP).