Weather Forecast


Two former DL grads honored for being top student/athletes

Brent Eidenschink (Detroit Lakes), Luke Mellmer (Dickinson, N.D.), Jayson Ness (Bloomington), Joe Nord (Waconia), Brian Peterson (Richmond, Mich.) and Mike Thorn (St. Michael) were all named the All-Academic team.

Nord highlights the squad as the only three-time honoree, while he is joined by Eidenschink, Ness, and Peterson who all make the team for the second consecutive season.

All six wrestlers have seen time in the starting line-up this season, posting a collective 26-8 record in dual meets.

The Gopher contingent is part of 61 total wrestlers named by the Big Ten to the Winter All-Academic team.

Raboin named Lowe's CLASS team

St. Cloud State University senior defenseman Garrett Raboin (Detroit Lakes) has been named as member of the 2010 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award Senior All-America First Team.

Raboin was among an elite group of five NCAA Division I men's hockey players to receive this award in 2010.   

The award identifies personal qualities that define a complete student-athlete, with criteria including community service, excellence in the classroom, outstanding character and competition on the field.

Raboin served as a three-year team captain for the Huskies, and earned All-WCHA honors in 2009 and 2010.  

Raboin led the Huskies to three NCAA tournament bids during his career, including SCSU's NCAA tournament invite in 2010.

In 2009-10, Raboin led SCSU's defensive corps with 8 goals, 16 assists and 24 points and received WCHA Player of the Week honors twice this winter.  He scored 83 points during his career with the Huskies and currently ranks fourth in the team's charts for career points by a defenseman.

In the classroom, Raboin earned All-WCHA Academic awards in 2008, 2009 and 2010.  

(Articles by U of M and SCSU Sports Information Departments.)