Weather Forecast


Fondrick and Haukebo are DL's Triple A winners

Detroit Lakes seniors Justine Haukebo and Andy Fondrick were the school's Triple A award winners for the 2009-10 school year.

Established in 1988, the award, popularly known as the Triple "A" Award, recognizes and rewards high school seniors from across the state for their achievements in the classroom, the arts and athletics.

To qualify for the award, students must have a "B" or better grade point average and participate in League-sponsored athletic and fine arts activities.

League member schools are invited to nominate two students a boy and a girl for the award.

Award recipients are selected through a multi-level process involving the League's administrative regions and a committee of athletic, fine arts and educational leaders.

Haukebo carries a 4.106 Grade Point Average and has been out for an abundant of activities.

She was a key member of the resurgent Laker girls' tennis team this past fall.

Haukebo also has participated in the fall musical, Laker Singers, Concert Choir and a part of the National Honor Society and Student Government.

Fondrick also has been a busy Laker and carries a 3.857 GPA.

He is a part of the National Honor Society, took part in Speech, the fall musical, concert choir and Laker Singers.

Fondrick is also out for the DL baseball varsity team.

The four students receiving this year's state award are Sonja Peterson, Two Harbors, Peter Wollin, Greenbush-Middle River, Ellen Degler, Chaska, and Mathew Schnorenberg, Mankato East.

Each student will receive a four-year, $1,000 scholarship from the Minnesota State High School League.