Weather Forecast


43rd Annual Ironman Junior Classic results

Hunter Clark, Champion, Riley Peterson, runner-up, Eric Huus 3rd1 / 9
First Flight 13 - 18 Skylar Belgarde, Champion, Chase Metelak, runner-up, Ryley Byklum- 3rd2 / 9
Gehrig Geiss, Champion, Scott Boehning runner up, Ian Simonich 3rd3 / 9
Matthew Tobkin, champion, Carson Rogstad, runner-up4 / 9
Nicolas Hess, 3rd5 / 9
Shelby Busker & Emily Larson6 / 9
Lilly Quern, Abby Laron, McKenna Mallow7 / 9
Ben Unruh, Champion, Ryan Paskey, runner up, Ty Satter 3rd8 / 9
Tyler Burnside, Champion, Carter Justesen, runner-up, Jon Starkey, 3rd9 / 9

The Ironman Junior Classic concluded play early Friday morning with champions crowned in the 13 - 15 year old Match Play division. Hunter Clark once again came out on top as the winner of the Championship Flight for the second year in a row. Riley Peterson of Grand Forks was runner-up while Eric Huus of Frazee came in 3rd.

In the First Flight of the Match Play division, Skylar Belgarde of Grand Forks was crowned champion while Chase Metelak of Detroit Lakes was runner up and Riley Byklum of Hawley was third.

In the boys 10 - 12 year old division, Ben Unruh of Detroit Lakes was hunted down by friend and competitor, Ryan Paskey, also from Detroit Lakes, who shot the low round of 64 in 18 hole play, but came up short. Ben Unruh was crowned champion with a 27 hole total of 98. Ryan came in second with 103. Ty Satter made a great comeback today to secure 3rd with a 112 total to squeak by Cole Hanson of Fargo, who finished with a 113.

In the First flight of the 10 - 12 year old division, Tyler Burnside, from Detroit Lakes (an Ironman course-rat) held off a charge from Hawley's Carter Justesen to secure first place with a total of 124. Carter came in second with a 126. Jon Starkey of Mahnomen just edged out Maccoy Gregoire of Moorhead for 3rd with a 131.

In the Boys 8-9 year old division, Gehrig Geiss of Bismark fought off Scott Boehing of Fargo to win by one stroke with a 2 day total of 72 to Scott's 73. Ian Simonich took 3rd with an 80. The first flight was won by Detroit Lakes' native, Matthew Tobkin, with a 2 day total of 96. Carson Rogstad, also of Detroit Lakes, came in second with a 98 followed by Nicolas Hess of Frazee, who shot a 108.

In the girls division, Shelby Busker of Detroit Lakes continued her strong play with a two day total of 87. Emily Larson of Detroit Lakes, took 6 strokes off her first day score to win a scorecard playoff to secure 2nd place over Lily Burnside of Waubun, who tied Emily with a 106. In the first flight, Lilly Quern of Fargo was champion with a 147. Abby Larson of Detroit Lakes came in second with a two day total of 149 while McKenna Mallow secured 3rd with a 150.

Win or lose, good sportsmanship, camaraderie and renewed friendships abounded.