Weather Forecast


Wrestling - Lakers open season with win over UCB

The season opener for both the Detroit Lakes and United Clay Becker wrestling team turned into a pin-fest, as a total of 10 falls were recorded, with the Lakers coming out on top 57-22 over the Badgers in Lake Park last Thursday.

The first five matches were decided by fall, as DL's Tyler Bellefeuille and Marcus Jasken started it out with back-to-back pins at 106 and 113.

Jarrett Lange put UCB on the board with a fall, but Luke Payne stuck Jimmy Kohler at 125.

After a Nick Wamre major decision for the Badgers at 132, DL went on a five-match win streak, which included two forfeits and a narrow 4-3 decision for No. 6 ranked Parker Jackson over UCB junior Mason Swegarden in the night's featured bout.

"Mason came in wanting to give (Jackson) a good match and just came up on the short end of the stick," said UCB head coach Nick Paur. "But Mason learned from it and will be better for it."

Brandon Dahring and Jeff Gailfus put the sealer on the win with pins at 160 and 170, respectively, while Alex Lindsey, Andy Larson and Mat Pepper rang up three consecutive falls for the Badgers from 182-220.

James Huwe concluded the match for the Lakers with a pin in the heavyweight match.

In junior varsity action, the Lakers' Cory Puttbrese, Austin Baker, Jordan Mackner and Mike Renteria all won by pins.

The Lakers will be in Waubun against Mahnomen/Waubun Thursday for a 6 p.m. start, while the Badgers will be in New York Mills Friday for a 5 p.m. start.

The preseason for the Northwest Wrestling Youth Club is underway.

There will be two more practices for the experienced wrestlers in grades two through six on consecutive Monday nights, Dec. 10 and 17, from 6-7:30 p.m.

The practices are free of charge for Detroit Lakes wrestlers, with outside residents requiring a fee to attend.

Laker results

Detroit Lakes at United Clay Becker, Thursday, Nov. 29.

Lakers 57, Badgers 22

106: Tyler Bellefeuille (DL) pin Riley Byklum.

113: Marcus Jasken (DL) pin Brady Mann.

120: Jarrett Lange (UCB) pin Payton Jackson.

125: Luke Payne (DL) pin Jimmy Kohler.

132: Nick Wamre (UCB) maj dec Travis Twigg 9-1.

138: Zach Baker (DL) won by forfeit.

145: Parker Jackson (DL) dec. Mason Swegarden 4-3.

152: Cole Hegg (DL) won by forfeit.

160: Brandon Dahring (DL) pin Chance Lefebvre.

170: Jeff Gailfus (DL) pin Dylan Larson.

182: Alex Lindsey (UCB) pin Ben Ortiz.

195: Andy Larson (UCB) pin Jason Griego.

220: Mat Pepper (UCB) pin Cameron Fritz.

HWT: James Huwe (DL) pin Zach Svare.