Weather Forecast


DL Wrestling - Lakers run over Mahnomen/Waubun

The deeper Detroit Lakes wrestling team ran roughshod over Mahnomen/Waubun Thursday, taking their second dual win of the season 55-18.

The Cougars won the first two matches, as Mike Bisek and Shawn Niesen started with back-to-back pins, but the Lakers won the next two weights by forfeit, then took the next six matches to gain firm control.

Nate Francis won a narrow 7-6 decision over M/W's Kole Lefebvre, while Zach Baker earned bonus points with a pin on Ryan McArthur.

Parker Jackson won by a 12-4 decision at 145, while Jarret Nosal followed a forfeit win by Brandon Dahring with a pin over Jake Warms at 160.

From there, Ben Ortiz (182), Jason Griego (195) and James Huwe (heavyweight) each won by fall for the Lakers.

Cameron Fritz also won by forfeit at 220.

The Lakers will have their home opener in a triangular Tuesday against Crosby-Ironton and Staples-Motley, starting at 5 p.m.

Laker results

Detroit Lakes at Mahnomen/Waubun, Thursday, Dec. 6.

Lakers 55, Cougars 18

106 Tyler Bellefeuille Lost by a pin over Mike Bisek

113 Marcus Jasken Lost by a pin to Shawn Neisen

120 Payton Jackson Won with a Forfeit

125 Luke Payne Won with a Forfeit

132 Nate Francis Won 7-6 against Kole lefebure

138 Zach Baker Won with a pin over Ryan McArthur

145 Parker Jackson Won 12-4 over Kody Lefebure

152 Brandon Dahring Won by Forfeit

160 Jarrett Nosal Won with a pin over Jake Warms

170 Jeff Gailfus Won with a Forfeit

182 Ben Ortiz Lost over Kal Handyside with a pin

195 Jason Griego Won with a pin over Riley McCollum

220 Cameron Fritz Won with a Forfeit

285 James Huwe Won with a pin over Alex Medina.

Laker junior varsity results

106 Cory Puttbrese Won with a pin against Sam Olson

106 Austin Baker Won with a pin against Sequntia Tohn

95 Braydon Ortloff Won with a pin against Sam Olson

115 Cameron Erb Won 8-0 against Dan Snetsinger

140 Luke Eggabraaten Won 4-0 against Gene Snetsinger

150 Rayne Jacobson Won with a pin against Mitch foss

185 Kavon Schumacher Won with a pin against Jerrel Londo

152 Cole Hegg Won with a pin against Ira Kier.