Weather Forecast


DL matmen head into 2013 9-1

Laker captain Brandon Dahring puts his Crookston opponent on his back during their match Tuesday night in Ralph Anderson Gym. Photo by - Brian Basham1 / 2
Laker heavyweight James Huwe takes down his Crookston opponent during Tuesday's wrestling meet in Ralph Anderson Gym. Photo by - Brian Basham2 / 2

The Detroit Lakes wrestling team will be heading into 2013 will a full head of steam, after improving to 9-1 in dual action with a 51-12 win over visiting Crookston Tuesday.

The Pirates managed only three wins, while the Lakers piled up four pins.

Sophomore Parker Jackson won match 101, with a 5-1 decision over Wyatt Hanson at 152 pounds, while senior Zach Baker was a 13-5 major decision victor over Cody Weiland at 138 for win No. 61.

Sophomore Nate Francis also picked up win No. 61 after he downed Shad Steer with an 11-2 major decision.

The Lakers capped the match off with back-to-back pins by senior Cameron Fritz at 220 and freshman James Huwe at heavyweight.

Other DL winners were Luke Payne by pin at 132, Brandon Dahring by major decision at 170 and Jeff Gailfus by pin at 182.

The Lakers will open 2013 Saturday, Jan. 5, in the Perham Invite.

Laker results

Crookston at Detroit Lakes, Tuesday, Dec. 18.

Lakers 51, Pirates 12

106: Braydon Ortloff (DL) won by forfeit.

113: Colton Weiland (Crk) dec. Marcus Jasken 5-3.

120: Payton Jackson (DL) won by forfeit.

125: Luke Payne (DL) pin Kyle Caputo 1:03.

132: Nate Francis (DL) maj. Dec. Shad Steer 11-2.

138: Zach Baker (DL) maj dec Cody Weiland 13-5.

145: Double forfeit

152: Parker Jackson (DL) dec. Wyatt Hanson 5-1.

160: Blake Bergeron (Crk) dec. Jarett Nosal 8-4.

170: Brandon Dahring (DL) maj dec Luke Edlund 10-1.

182: Jeff Gailfus (DL) pin Jesse Bosquez 3:13.

195: Josh Edlund (Crk) pin Jason Griego.

220: Cameron Fritz (DL) pin Parker Boone :47.

HWT: James Huwe (DL) pin AJ Biermeier 3:36.

Brian Wierima
Detroit Lakes Newspapers Sports Editor for the last 15 years. St. Cloud State University graduate, who hails from Deer Creek, MN.