Weather Forecast


Frazee lays claim to HOL...again

Frazee's Kody Vandenkle (right) fights for control over Perham's Cole Schmitz during the HOL 182-pound championship. Vandenkle won the conference title by beating Schmitz on a 10-2 major decision. Bob Williams/Forum News Service1 / 2
Frazee's Brett Gildersleeve (left) prepares to wrestle Perham's Gio Carcia in the 195-pound HOL Conference championship Saturday in Hawley. Gildersleeve took the match with a 6-4 decision. Bob Williams/Forum News Service2 / 2

Frazee won their 40th Heart O' Lakes team wrestling championship and Perham had eight finalists and four individual champions.

The Yellowjackets finished second in the team standings with 195.5 points to the Hornets' 242.5.

The Hornets finished either as champion or runner-up in 11 of the 14 weight classes.

Frazee HOL champions were Tanner Reetz (106), Grant Jepson (120), Austin Skillngs (126), Eric Moltzan (145), Kody Vandenkle (182), Brett Gildersleeve (195) and heavyweight Garrett Malstrom.

Perham wrestlers with individual titles were: Sam Pirrotta at 113 pounds; Josh Werner at 132 pounds; Brady Sazama at 152 pounds and 220-pounder Cody Nylander.

No. 3-2A Nylander defeated Frazee's No.3-A ranked Tony Reurink for the second straight meeting between the two. With a 4-1 lead after the first period, Nylander pinned Reurink at 2:13.

"Each year he wrestles highly-ranked kids in this tournament," Perham Head Coach Robb Moser said.

Nylander is a three-time Heart O' Lakes champion.

Werner won three matches on the day, a tech fall at 5:00 over UCB's Nick Wamre and he pinned Robert Mazorlegos of Pelican Rapids at 3:11 to earn a match-up with No. 8-A Hunter Sorenson of Frazee.

Werner was in command early busting out to a 5-0 lead but Sorenson owned the second minute of the first period and came out with a 6-5 lead.

The second was scoreless and Werner commanded enough of the third period to win with a 10-7 decision.

"He doesn't get rattled in many situations. Huge improvement from the beginning of the year."

Sam Pirrotta won both of his matches by decision and allowed one escape to his opponent in each match.

In the finals he faced Frazee's Byron Byer, who had done the 113-pound bracket a favor knocking off Conrad Kondos of Breckenridge in the semis.

Kondos was a fourth-place finisher at 106-pounds at last year's state tournament.

Byer defeated him by decision 4-2.

No. 9-2A Luke Sailer, William Parks, Cole Schmitz and Gio Garcia all reached the finals.

Sailer was defeated by UCB's Mason Swegarden 4-2 at 138 pounds.

At 170, Parks defeated No. 8-A Tyler Ziegler of Frazee by decision 8-5, and lost a tight 2-1 final to Barnesville's Isaac Goedtke, ranked No. 10 in Class A.

Parks led 1-0 after two periods. Much of the second period was a stalemate between both wrestlers with neither leaving their feet.

Goedtke scored a reversal with a minute remaining for the winning points.

Schmitz blanked his first two opponents, Alex Lindsay 8-0 and Maverick Brady 4-0 before Frazee's No. 10-A Kody Vandenykle won the final by major decision 10-2.

Gio Garcia pinned Tyler Vold at 3:00 and reached the finals with a 9-5 decision over Barnesville's Dana Berg.

A Hornet was in the way in the finals and Brett Gildersleeve and Garcia forced overtime to decide the 195-pound title.

The match was tied at the end of all three periods, zeroes in the first, one in the second and both wrestlers scored three points in the third.

Garcia got an early takedown to take a 3-1 lead and allowed Gildersleeve an escape to give up a free point.

Garcia got the point back escaping late in the match after Gildersleeve had gone up 4-3. Gildersleeve scored early in overtime for the 6-4 victory.

The Badgers of United Clay Becker finished with 79 points, with Swegarden being the lone champion.

Alex Lindsay finished third, as well, at 182.

Heart O'Lakes results

Heart O'Lakes Conference meet in Hawley, Saturday, Jan. 26.

Team results: Frazee 242.5, Perham 195.5, Barnesville 161, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton 96, Breckenridge 88, Pelican Rapids 82, United Clay Becker 79.

Weight class places


1. Tanner Reetz (Frz)

2. Brady Tweeton (Brnvill)

3. Daniel Franco (PR)

4. Riley Byklum (UCB)

5. Jacob Arends (DGF)

6. Gage Paurus (Perh)


1. Sam Pirotta (Perh)

2. Byron Byer (Frz)

3. Conrad Knondos (Breck)

4. Zac Anderson (Brnsv)

5. Brady Mann (UCB)


1. Grant Jepson (Frz)

2. Stuart Brandt (Brnsv)

3. Chase Curtis (Perh)

4. Camron Greenly (DGF)


1. Austin Skillings (Frz)

2. Kyler Votava (Brnsv)

3. Carlos Guiterrez (PR)

4. Wyatt Whiteaker (DGF)

5. Jacob Gueha (Perh)

6. Jimmy Kohler (UCB)


1. Josh Werner (Perh)

2. Hunter Sorenson (Frz)

3. Alex Johnson (DGF)

4. Robert Mazorlegos (PR)

5. Nick Wamre (UCB)

6. Mark Erickson (Breck)


1. Mason Swegarden (UCB)

2. Luke Sailer (Perh)

3. Rylee Anderson (Brnsv)

4. Tyler Wacker (Frz)

5. Gunnar Whiteaker (DGF)


1. Eric Moltzan (Frz)

2. Josh Stuehrenberg (Breck)

3. Ethan Johnson (DGF)

4. Jacob Monson (Perh)

5. Josh Klovstad (PR)

6. Zaine Perkins (UCB)


1. Brady Sazama (Perh)

2. Josh Peterson (Breck)

3. Jace Nosal (Brnsv)

4. Nate Starry (Frz)

5. Jonah Lange (UCB)

6. Alex Diaz (PR)


1. Michael Whitney (Breck)

2. Evan Wendt (Frz)

3. Hunter Olson (Brnsv)

4. Chance Lefebvre (UCB)

5. Alex Fuchs (DGF)

6. Patrick Glynn (Perh)


1. Isaac Goedtke (Brnsv)

2. William Parks (Perh)

3. Tyler Ziegler (Frz)

4. Derek Nordick (Breck)

5. Ben Barragan (PR)

6. Tyler Oberg (DGF)


1. Kody Vandenkle (Frz)

2. Cole Schmitz (Perh)

3. Alex Lindsay (UCB)

4. Ben Martin (DGF)

5. Felix Barragan (PR)

6. Maverick Brady (Brnsv)


1. Brett Gildersleeve (Frz)

2. Gio Carcia (Perh)

3. Dana Berg (Brnsv)

4. Garrett Pemelton (DGF)

5. Andy Westhoff (UCB)

6. Muhamed Carbo (PR)


1. Cody Nylander (Perh)

2. Tony Reurink (Frz)

3. Kyle Johnson (Brnsv)

4. Drew Hawk (DGF)


1. Garrett Malstrom (Frz)

2. Alex Wheelright (Brnsv)

3. Eddie Ramos (PR)

4. Brady Butcher (DGF)

5. Trent Jahnke (Perh)

6. Cody Clift (Breck)