Weather Forecast


DL Wrestling - Pequot Lakes spoils DL's Mid-State quest

Bonus points by pin were the Detroit Lakes wrestling team's undoing in their big dual matchup against Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus Tuesday.

The winner would take the Mid-State Conference title, along with the second seed in the upcoming Section 8-2A team tournament, as the two squads split with four pins each.

But the bonus points tilted to PL/PR-B, which won 36-29.

"We gave up too many pins," said DL head coach Rob Ullyott. "We need to do a better job not giving up bonus points. I thought we were right there and the kids feel they gave this one away."

The Lakers did defeat Wadena-Deer Creek 69-11, as the Wolverines hosted the triangular.

Detroit Lakes dropped the first three matches against PL/PR-B by two decisions and a pin, but started making their way back by taking the next three of four matches by fall.

Logan Twigg (126 pounds), Zach Baker (138) and Parker Jackson (145) each won by pins to help DL climb back into the match leading 18-15.

But Pequot Lakes took a decision at 152, then gained two more pins in the latter matches to build up a 30-21 margin heading into the 195 match.

DL's Jason Griego posted a fall over Cadel Roeder to pull to within 30-27, but the Lakers split the final two matches.

"All year the guys have been getting better and better and learned how to grind out matches," Ullyott said. "They just didn't wrestle as well (Tuesday). It was a good lesson learned."

The seedings are pretty much sealed up, as Perham should carry the top spot, followed by PL/PR-B, Detroit Lakes and Thief River Falls.

"We will be right in the mix," the DL coach said.

The Lakers also finished second in the Blaine Tournament over the weekend by beating Elk River 33-30 and Milaca 41-27, before falling to Rosemount 39-33 in the title match.

The Lakers will host Class 1A powerhouse Frazee Friday, starting at 7:30 p.m.

Laker results

Detroit Lakes at Wadena-Deer Creek triangular, Tuesday, Feb. 5.

Lakers 69, Wadena-Deer Creek 11

106: Tyler Bellefeuille won by forfeit.

113 Payton Jackson Won with a pin over Lee Spencer

120 Marcus Jasken Lost by a pin to Tristin Godel

126 Logan Twigg Lost 0-15 tech fall to Sam Waln

132 Bryant Swiers Won by forfeit

138 Zach Baker Won by a pin against Josh Lawson

145 Parker Jackson Won by pin against Austin Koljonen

152 Jarett Nosal Won by forfeit

160 Brandon Dahring Won by forfeit

170 Jeff Gailfus Won by forfeit

182 Ben Ortiz Won by a pin over Isaac Malone

195 Cameron Fritz Won 9-5 over Caleb Monson

220 Mike Renteria Won by a pin over Brandon Monson

285 James Huwe Won by a pin over Tristian Baker.

Pequot Lakes/PR-B 36, Lakers 29

106 Tyler Bellefeuille Lost 1-8 to Anthony Phillipson

113 Payton Jackson Lost 4-6 to Spencer Richards

120 Marcus Jasken Lost by a pin to Lucas McCoy

126 Logan Twigg Won by a pin over Gravdahl

132 Bryant Swiers Lost by a pin to Nick Gravdahl

138 Zach Baker Won by a pin against Jace Loge

145 Parker Jackson Won by pin against Joe Harrison

152 Jarett Nosal Lost 3-8 to Drey Loge

160 Brandon Dahring Lost by a pin to Ozzie Miller

170 Jeff Gailfus Won 5-4 against Kyle Jordan

182 Ben Ortiz Lost by a pin to Justin Makenthun

195 Jason Griego Won by a pin against Cadel Roeder 220 Cameron Fritz Lost 0-5 to Jarred Adkins

285 James Huwe Won 5-0 against Kurt Kent.

Brian Wierima
Detroit Lakes Newspapers Sports Editor for the last 15 years. St. Cloud State University graduate, who hails from Deer Creek, MN.