Weather Forecast


Wrestling: Frazee heads to state for 21st time

Assistant coach Marty Aho (right) has filled in for Frazee head coach John Barlund during his administration leave, as the Hornets clinched their 21st section championship Saturday. DL NEWSPAPERS/Brian Basham

The Frazee wrestling team marked up its 21st state berth Saturday after the Class 1A No. 2 ranked Hornets rolled through the Section 8-1A team tournament in Thief River Falls.

Not much threatened the Hornets, as they compiled convincing wins over Park Rapids 64-10, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton 63-14 and Badger/Greenbush-Middle River in the title bout 46-12.

Overcoming some distracting intangibles with the recent administrative leave of their head coach John Barlund, the Hornets set aside any adversity and went out and took care of business, losing just nine matches in the three duals.

The top of the Hornets’ lineup secured big leads early on, as weight divisions 106 through 138 collected a total of 10 pins in three duals, while the middle of the order maintained and the end capped the victories.

Longtime assistant coach Marty Aho filled in for Barlund as head coach as the Frazee wrestling team responded well.

The Hornets will converge in Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton for the Section 8-1A individual tournament, starting Friday and running through Saturday.

The Hornets will open the Class 1A state team tournament as the No. 2 seed and will face Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale in the quarterfinals.

Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City earned the top seed, followed by Frazee, Chatfield and Minneota/Lincoln HI.

The Class 1A quarterfinals include: ACGC vs. Sibley East; Minneota vs. No. 5 Jackson County Central and in the bottom bracket Chatfield vs. Pierz and Frazee vs. Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale.      

Section 8-1A team tournament, at Thief River Falls, Saturday, Feb. 15


Frazee 64, Park Rapids 10

106: Tanner Eischens (Fraz) pin Landon Burlingame :56.

113: Tanner Reetz (Fraz) pin Jared Sunram 3:45.

120: Byron Byer (Fraz) pin Andrew Goltz :42.

126: Grant Jepson (Fraz) dec. Nolan Booge 9-3.

132: Jordan Olson (Fraz) won by forfeit.

138: Austin Skillings (Fraz) pin Logan Johnson :54.

145: Justin Dravis (PR) pin Hunter Sorenson 4:45.

152: Nathan Starry (Fraz) pin Cody Dravis 3:55.

160: Tanner Bachmann (Fraz) maj dec. Zach Nelson 11-1.

170: McKalen Hedlund (Fraz) dec. Zachary Tretbar 10-3.

182: Kody VanDenEykel (Fraz) pin Zachary Hacking :13.

195: John Kyllonen (PR) maj dec. Ryan Brandt 15-1.

220: Brandon DeGroat (Fraz) pin Logan Veo :58.

HWT: Garrett Malstrom (Fraz) pin Chris Baxter :53.


Frazee 63, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton 14

106: Tanner Eichens (FRA) over Jack Fuchs (DGF) Fall 3:05

113: Tanner Reetz (FRA) Fall 1:39 over Austin Bitker (DGF)

120: Byron Byer, (FRA) fall 1:14 over Andrew Oberg, (DGF)

126: Ethan Byer (FRA) Fall 5:59 over Wyatt Whiteaker (DGF)

132: Jordan Olson (FRA) Fall 5:14 over Jacob Schlicting (DGF)

138: Austin Skillings (FRA) won by Forfeit

145: Hunter Sorenson (FRA) 15-0 over Trent Default (DGF)

152: Nathan Starry (FRA) 3-0 over Adam Olson (DGF)

160: Tanner Bachmann (FRA) Fall 5:06 over Ethan Johnson (DGF)

170: Alex Fuchs (DGF) Fall 4:50 over McKalen Hedlund (FRA)

182: Kody VanDenEykel (FRA) Fall 2:33 over Ben Martin (DGF)

195: Garrett Pemelton (DGF) 15-4 over Ryan Brandt (FRA)

220: Garrett Malstrom (FRA) 5-0 over Tyler Oberg (DGF)

285: Drew Hawk (DGF) 11-1 over Brandon DeGroat (FRA)


Frazee 46 Badger/Greenbush-Middle River 12

106: Tannet Eischens (FRA) 2-1 over Isaak Isane (BGMR)

113: Tanner Reetz (FRA) 11-2 over Nash Sovde (BGMR)

120: Wyatt Becker (BGMR) 2-0 over Byron Byer (FRA)

126: Grant Jepson (FRA) 3-1 over Nick Kaml (BGMR)

132: Devin Dostal (BGMR) 5-2 over Jordan Olson (FRA)

138: Austin Skillings (FRA) Fall :54 over Trevor Undeberg (BGMR)

145: Cory Hasbrouck (BGMR) 6-4 over Hunter Sorenson (FRA)

152: Brandon Waage (BGMR) 2-0 over Nate Starry (FRA)

160: Tanner Bachman (FRA) 4-3 over Dakota Gullickson (BGMR)

170: Calvin Streeper (FRA) Fall 1:34 over Daron Sikorski (BGMR)

182: Kody VanDerEykel (FRA) Fall 2:34 over Devin Pries (BGMR)

195: Ryan Brandt (FRA) 2-0 over Beau Blumer (BGMR)

220: Brandon DeGroat (FRA) Fall 1:34 over Adam Lorenson (BGMR)

285: Garrett Malstrom (FRA) Fall 1:51 over Doug Peterson (BGMR)