Weather Forecast


Laker boys’ and girls’ cross-country teams each 2nd in Mid-State

Each of the Detroit Lakes boys’ and girls’ cross country teams finished second in the Mid-State Conference meet in Crosby-Ironton Thursday.

The Laker boys had one of their best meets of the season, as they were able to show some solid pack-mentality running, while junior Matthew Lundstrom finished as the conference runner-up with a time of 17:13.

“Jake Fritz, Aaron Johnson, Austin Askelson and Brady Labine packed together through most of the race and really fed off each other to race better than they have all season,” said DL head boys’ coach Bill Kvebak. “If we can continue to run like that, I like our chances to place among the top teams in our section.”

Lundstrom and senior Zach Foltz, who finished eighth with a time of 18:21, each earned All-Conference honors, while Johnson and Askelson both received honorable mentions.  

Johnson and Askelson were 14th and 15th, respectively, while Fritz was 18th and Connor Haugrud, 21st.

“Connor Haugrud continued his maturation, finishing as our sixth runner just outside of the top 20,” Kvebak said.

The team title was taken by Crosby-Ironton, which topped DL 44 to 57, while Park Rapids junior Isaac Overmyer won the individual banner with a time of 16:58.

The Laker girls were led in by freshman Mackenzie Ostlie, who finished third with a mark of 16:08, while sophomore Sarah Schumacher joined her in All-Conference honors in ninth at 17:06.

Senior Megan Ostlie was 11th at 17:12, followed by Haley Groth (15th), Rachel Wentz (16th) and Heather Kunkel (18th) to round out the top six.

“I though the conference was possible for us,” said DL head girls’ coach Jon Freeman. “Park Rapids has their best team in years and will make a run for the championship in their section.

“But for the second straight year, we had all seven varsity runners in the top 20. Before the meet, I would have told you I would have thought that would be enough, but the way Park ran, obviously that wasn’t the case.”

DL placed six runners in front of the Panthers’ five, and seven in front of their six, but Park Rapids had too many of the top five spots for the Lakers to catch up with.

“We could have used some help from the other teams, but this was really a two-team race,” Freeman added. “My hat is off to the Panthers.

“I thought we raced well and had some real nice efforts. The nicest part is that if we were able to run a second team, our JV would have been fourth out of 8 teams.”

Both varsity and JV ran at the same time, but only the top seven were scored.

“We have great depth, we just need a few more in the ‘horse-power’ department,” Freeman said.

Crosby-Ironton’s Margaret Stokman was first with a time of 15:47.

The Lakers will host the Section 8-2A meet Thursday, Oct. 24 at the Lakeview Golf Course, starting at 4 p.m.

Mid-State Conference at Crosby-Ironton, Thursday, Oct. 10

Boys team results: Crosby-Ironton 44, Detroit Lakes 57, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle 58, Pequot Lakes 112, Park Rapids 113, Staples-Motley 125

DL boys results: 2. Matthew Lundstrom 17:13; 8. Zach Foltz 18:21; 14. Aaron Johnson 19:10; 15. Austin Askelson 19:24; 18. Jacob Fritz 19:29; 21. Connor Haugrud 19:47; 40. Paul Stewart 20:29; 45. Jace Englestad 20:41; 47. Zach Buboltz 20:45; 49. Matthew Molacek 20:54; 51. Jesse Livermore 20:56; 53. Jared Olson 20:59; 55. Mason Sampson 21:04; 58. Jacob Dahring 21:22; 59. Connor Edvall 21:23; 61. Austin Nelson 21:28; 65. Anthony Meyer 21:46; 66. Cody Edwards 21:54; 72. Sam Bellware 22:13; 73. Bailey Tulius 22:22; 74. Tristan Johnson 22:23; 77. Michael Richter 22:33; 85. Wyatt Nelson 23:12; 91. Marcus Jasken 23:43; 93. Seth Nelson 24:42; 94. Nihaar Joshi 24:51; 97. Derek Gray 26:04; 98. Isaac Clem 26:42

Girls team results: Park Rapids 35, Detroit Lakes 54, Crosby-Ironton 78, Pequot Lakes 97, Staples-Motley 129, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle 157, Wadena-Deer Creek 166

DL girls results: 3. Mackenzie Ostlie 16:08; 9. Sarah Schumacher 17:06; 11. Megan Ostlie 17:12; 15. Haley Groth 17:31; 16. Rachel Wentz 17:34; 18. Heather Kunkel 17:38; 19. Anne Holzgrove 17:44; 25. Mackenzie Foltz 18:02; 28. Kendra Kvebak 18:06; 29. Jasmin Hamm-Coyne 18:07; 32. Anna Hokanson 18:19; 33. Tanisha Perlmutter 18:35; 42. Karissa Berg 19:05; 44. Elizabeth Kvebak 19:14; 50. Emily Zok 19:41; 51. Lauren Lies 19:43; 57. Alexis Fierros 20:08; 59. Andrea Tibbetts 20:12; 64. Auroura Eckberg 20:25; 66. Bridget Bergen 20:47; 68. Jenna Jasken 20:57; 71. Mia Martinez 24:23

Brian Wierima
Detroit Lakes Newspapers Sports Editor for the last 15 years. St. Cloud State University graduate, who hails from Deer Creek, MN.