Weather Forecast


DL matmen dominate Park Rapids

Experience showed through for the Detroit Lakes wrestling team, as the Lakers toppled home-team Park Rapids 55-15 Tuesday.

The much more seasoned Lakers dominated the Panthers’ lineup, starting with Tyler Bellefeuille’s pin of Toby Ritter at 106 pounds through to heavyweight James Huwe’s fall over Chris Baxter.

“It was great to get back on the mat after the Christmas break,” said DL head coach Rob Ullyott.

“We were a little rusty and need to continue to work on some of the small details that can make a big difference.  We always have a great effort, we just need to continue to get better.”

Those Lakers recording pins included Luke Payne (138) and Jarett Nosal (170), while Nathan Francis (145), Parker Jackson (152), Luke Eggebraaten (160) and Tanner Schnathorst (195) all rang up decisions.

The Lakers will be back in action at Moorhead for a triangular with the Spuds and Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton, starting at 5 p.m. 

Detroit Lakes at Park Rapids, Tuesday, Jan. 7

Detroit Lakes 55

Park Rapids 15

106:  Tyler Bellefeuille DL over Toby Ritter PR Fall :30

113:  Payton Jackson  DL Wins by Forfeit

120:  Jarrett Sunram PR over Austin Baker DL Fall 3:59

126:  Trey Greer DL Wins by Forfeit

132:  Logan Twigg DL Wins by Forfeit

138:  Luke Payne DL over Logan Johnson PR Fall 3:59

145:  Nathan Francis DL over Lane Jenson PR  4-1

152:  Parker Jackson DL over Justin Dravis PR  12-3

160:  Luke Eggebraaten DL over Cody Dravis PR  4-3

170:  Jarett Nosal DL over Zach Nelson PR  Fall 1:26

182:  Zach Tretbar PR over Cole Hegg DL  6-2

195:  Tanner Schnathorst DL over Jacob Bittman PR  10-5

220:  John Killinan PR over Kirby Siewert DL  3:39

285:  James Huwe  DL over Chris Baxter PR :43 

JV results:

DL 33  PR 12

Lakers winning matches were:  Dylan Oien, Brenen Sather, Shem Boeckel, Fabyan Greer, Noah Olds, Bryant Swiers.

Follow us on Twitter @DLNewspapers

Brian Wierima
Detroit Lakes Newspapers Sports Editor for the last 15 years. St. Cloud State University graduate, who hails from Deer Creek, MN.