Weather Forecast


Wrestling: No. 2 Lakers fall to No .4 Patriots in Section finals

Six falls registered by the Detroit Lakes wrestling team over Thief River Falls propelled the Lakers into the Section 8-2A finals, where they ultimately fell to Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus.

The section runner-up Lakers did put together their best three duals of the season, with an opening win of 57-18 over Roseau, a 40-28 victory over No. 3 Thief River Falls in the semifinals and a 40-23 loss to the No. 4 Patriots in the finals.

“This was the best the team wrestled all season,” said DL head coach Rob Ullyott. “The guys have been working hard and the conditioning started to show through.”

The No. 2 seeded Lakers plowed through Roseau in the quarterfinals, kicking it off with three straight pins, while recording seven total.

Bonus points were also the key in DL’s semifinal triumph over Thief River Falls, as they picked up six falls, compared to the Prowlers’ two.

“That was the telltale against Thief River Falls, our six pins,” Ullyott said. “We basically scored the bonus points and they didn’t.”

DL heavyweight James Huwe also avenged an earlier loss to TRF’s Chris Kucera, winning by fall at the 5:32 mark.

Those Lakers who recorded falls included Huwe, Payton Jackson (113), Luke Payne (132), Luke Eggebraaten (152), Parker Jackson (160) and Jarett Nosal (170).

Bonus points again were the deciding factor in the finals, with the surprising Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus team pulling the upset over top-seeded Perham in the semifinals.

The Patriots had six matches which gained bonus points, including four pins and an injury default.

“We needed to wrestle a perfect dual against Pequot Lakes and we didn’t pick up enough bonus points,” Ullyott said. “They are a very good team and put out solid wrestlers at every weight.”

No. 6 ranked Parker Jackson also avenged an earlier loss to Patriot Nick Gravdahl – who defeated Jackson 19-12 earlier in the season – by winning by major decision 20-8.

Kirby Siewert and Huwe each won at 220 and heavyweight by fall and decision to cap the dual.

The Patriots will face No. 2 ranked Foley in the Class 2A state team tournament, which is Thursday, Feb. 27, inside the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.

The Section 8-2A individual meet will be held in Perham Friday and Saturday, with wrestling beginning at 1:30 p.m. Friday and 11 a.m. Saturday.

The state wrestling meet will run from Thursday, Feb. 27, through Saturday, March 1, in the Xcel Energy Center.  

Section 8-2A team tournament in Thief River Falls, Saturday, Feb. 15


Lakers 57, Roseau 18

106: Braydon Ortloff (DL) pin Riley Eidsmoe 4:42

113: Payton Jackson (DL) pin Brett Dale 5:25;

120: Austin Baker (DL) pin Chandler Mooney 3:44

126: Logan Twigg (DL) won by forfeit

132: Brett Jerome (Ros) dec. Luke Payne 3-2

138: Casey Warner (Ros) dec. Bryant Swiers 11-5

145: Nathan Francis (DL) pin Cole Knochenmus 1:43

152: Parker Jackson (DL) won by forfeit

160: Jarett Nosal (DL) pin Blake Skogstad 5:25

170: Rayn Jacobson (DL) dec. Devin Jensen 10-4

182: Beau Kringen (Ros) pin Tanner Schnathorst 2:17

195: Colton Millner (Ros) pin Cole Hegg :36

220: Kirby Siewert (DL) pin Erik Karl :49

Hwt: James Huwe (DL) pin Kieren Oksanen 1:37


Lakers 40 Thief River Falls 28

106: Brayden Ortloff (Detroit Lakes) over Cade Lundeen (TRF) 8-0

113: Payton Jackson (Detroit Lakes) Fall 0:46 over Cody Sele (TRF)

120: Josh Bernier (TRF) over Justin Baker (Detroit Lakes) 6-2

126: Steven Holecek (TRF) over Logan Twigg (Detroit Lakes) 14-5

132: Luke Payne (Detroit Lakes) fall 2:37 over Kyle Fowler (TRF)

138: Noah Bernier (TRF) Fall 3:12 over Bryant Swiers (Detroit Lakes)

145: Austin Hjelle (TRF) over Nate Francis (Detroit lakes) 3-0

152: Luke Eggebraaten (Detroit Lakes) Fall 1:16 over Bryce Chapin (TRF)

160: Parker Jackson (Detroit Lakes) Fall 1:36 over Conner Swanson (TRF)

170: Jarett Nosal (Detroit Lakes) Fall 2:49 over Jacob Brinkman (TRF)

182: Nathanael Holecek (TRF) Fall 0:25 over Ryan Jacobson (Detroit lakes)

195: Jacob Bohl (TRF) over Cole Hegg (Detroit Lakes) 7-2

220: Tyshaun Brown (TRF) over Kirby Siwert (Detroit Lakes) 8-3

285: James Huwe (Detroit Lakes) Fall 5:32 over Chris Kucera (TRF)

Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus 40, Detroit Lakes 23

106: Anthony Philipson (PL) Falls 1:05 over Braydon Ortloff (DL)

113: Isaac Manthei (PL) over Payton Jackson (DL) 8-3

120: Spencer Richard (PL) over Austin Baker (DL) 9-1

126: Brandon Mager (PL) over Logan Twigg (DL) 11-5

132: Luke Payne (DL) over Nate Adkins (PL) OT 4-2

138: Triston Rubner (PL) Falls 0:54 over Bryant Swiers (DL)

145: Nathan Francis (DL) over Jace Loge (PL) 11-2

152: Parker Jackson (DL) over Nick Gravdahl (PL) 20-8

160: Jarett Nosal(DL) over Joe Harrison(PL) 11-8

170: Justin Neumann (PL) Default over Ryan Jacobson (DL)

182: Osmund Miller (PL) Fall 0:40 over Tanner Schnathorst (DL)

195: Justin Maclkenthun (PL) Fall 0:19 over Cole Hegg (DL)

220: Kirby Siewert (DL) Fall 5:02 over Cadel Roeder (PL)

285: James Huwe (DL) over Jared Adkins (PL) 3-0

Brian Wierima
Detroit Lakes Newspapers Sports Editor for the last 15 years. St. Cloud State University graduate, who hails from Deer Creek, MN.