Weather Forecast


Herzog and area football seniors invited to All-Star game at SCSU

Detroit Lakes, Minn., quarterback Michael Herzog (9) leaps over East Grand Forks defenders on his way to a big run. DL NEWSPAPERS/Brian Basham

Several area senior football players were named to the MFCA Tackle Cancer All-Star Football game, which will be played June 28, at the St. Cloud State Husky Stadium.

Detroit Lakes’ quarterback Michael Herzog, Park Rapids’ tight end Noah MacPherson, defensive back Michael Strand of Barnesville and Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton’s running back Chad Johnson all received one of 88 invites to play in the annual football classic. 

The kick-off will be at 1:00 PM.

The All-Star Football Game will showcase outstanding senior players from the 2013 high school football season.

Players and coaches representing 85 schools and 30 conferences will participate in this year’s game. They were selected by members of the Minnesota Football Coaches Association.

The 2014 All-Star Game will be the 41st in the current annual series and the 52nd overall.

For the fourth consecutive year, the game will feature the North All-Stars versus the South All-Stars.

In the 2013 game, the South All-Stars defeated the North All-Stars 24-14 at Husky Stadium.

The South All-Stars lead the current North-South series 2-1. The South also leads the overall North-South series 10-9-1 after 20 games.

The South All-Stars took the series lead for the first time after the 2013 victory.

A total of 41 All-State players will participate in the 2014 All-Star Game.

This includes: 12 players from the 2013 Associated Press All-State First Team; 13 players from the 2013 Associated Press All-State Second Team; 13 players from the 2013 Associated Press All-State Third Team; 3 players from the 2013 9-Man All-State Team; The All-Star Game will include 12 players who participated in the 2013 Prep Bowl (8 state championship players and 4 state runner-up players).

Among those selected to the 2014 All-Star Football Game are Columbia recruit Lord Hyeamang (Apple Valley); Penn recruit Drew Trabing (Prior Lake); Eastern Michigan recruit Tim Gordon (Cretin-Derham Hall); Montana State recruit Joey Marinello (Eastview); Northern Iowa recruit Ezra Szczyrbak (Moose Lake/Willow River); North Dakota recruits Keaton Studsrud (Benilde-St. Margaret’s), Grant Aplin (Chanhassen), Reid Taubenheim (Farmington), Deion Harris (Hibbing) and Connor Bolduc (Mahtomedi); and North Dakota State recruits Aaron Steidl (Alexandria) and Christian Triplett (Delano).

The head coaches for the 2014 MFCA Tackle Cancer All-Star Football Game are Bill Weiss of Chisago Lakes Area (North) and Mike Grant of Eden Prairie (South).

The All-Star training camp will be held for the third time at St. John’s University (Collegeville, MN) from Sunday to Saturday, June 28-29.

The teams will travel from Collegeville to Husky Stadium on Saturday June 28 to play the All-Star Game.

Tickets can be purchased from the high school coach in your community. Tickets will also be available at the Husky Stadium gate on June 28.

The Minnesota Football Coaches Association is proud of this game and its history.

The All-Star Football Game was first played in 1945 and has been an annual event since 1974.

The game was played in a North versus South format from 1945 through 1960 and from 1974 to 1979, a Metro versus Outstate format from 1980 to 2010 and back to a North versus South format in 2011 (to present).

Through the years, over 4,000 players and 400 coaches have participated in this game.

A total of 77 players from the All-Star Football Game have gone on to play or coach in the National Football League, including current Chicago Bears Head Coach Marc Trestman (1974 All-Star Game alumnus) and Detroit Lakes graduate Adam Thielen (Minnesota Vikings).