Local students named to MSUM dean's list

MOORHEAD - Several local students have been named to the Minnesota State University Moorhead dean's list in recognition of academic achievement during fall semester 2018.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

Among those to qualify for the honor were the following (students listed by hometown; fields of study in parentheses):

From Audubon: Charisma Francis (BFA, art); Lindsey Olson (physical education, health education, exercise science); and Hannah Sellin (speech, language and hearing science).

From Callaway: Lindsay Baker (elementary inclusive education).

From Detroit Lakes: Matthew Bergren (speech, language and hearing science); Ben Blanchard (project management); Lucas Clark Burnette (engineering physics); Kaitlynn Clark-Heinonen (finance); Amber Colby (elementary inclusive education); Emma Dahl (elementary inclusive education); Lisa Devine (elementary inclusive education); Austin Dodd (advertising); Hannah Eikren (social studies); Micaela Feldt (elementary inclusive education); Hunter Frank (elementary inclusive education); Van Fritch-Gallatin (elementary inclusive education); Hanna Gedrose (elementary inclusive education); Matthew Grubb (economics, social studies); Akyra Hagen (elementary inclusive education); Baylee Hedstrom (ecology and evolutionary biology, pre-veterinary science); Lindsay Heinecke (finance); Jenna Holmer (English, history); Na Yeon Kim (early childhood education); Katie Larson (psychology, criminal justice); Melissa Larson (speech, language and hearing science); Deandra Moen (criminal justice, sociology); Katrina Okeson (business administration); Maddisan Parsons (elementary inclusive education); Dorothy Pihlaja (advertising and public relations); Lexi Radermacher (art education, psychology); Jacob Richter (exercise science, psychology); Brittany Rislund (Finance, investment management certificate); Mason Sampson (psychology, sociology); Paula Schulz (elementary inclusive education); Sarah Schumacher (exercise science); Alyssa Sickles (graphic design, general studies); Grace Swenson (pre-pharmacy, chemistry); Victoria Tinjum (graphic design); Aleksandr Usovich (psychology); and Caleb Waller (graphic design).

From Frazee: Kaitlyn Borah (elementary inclusive education); Davis Baana (film production); Sierra Brolin (graphic communications); Audreana Fleisher (elementary inclusive education); Jaden Ketter (early childhood education); Madison Oswald (elementary inclusive education); Erica Ratz (social studies); Martin Thorp (international studies, political science); Austin Torma (construction management); Logan Wacker (project management); and Sapphire Watchorn (health and medical sciences).

From Lake Park: Nicole Bentley (art education); Christina Knutson (gerontology, social work); Kendra Leendertsen (theater arts); and Kayla Olson (social work).

From Ogema: Alexis Heisler (early childhood education).

From Osage: Jacob Clements (business administration); and Alexis Stevenson (social work).

From Ponsford: MaKayla Edwards (elementary inclusive education); and Gabriela French (paralegal, political science, pre-law).

From Rochert: Abigayle Skinner (business administration); and Kody Thronson (psychology, sociology).

From Waubun: Deondra Jackson (social work).

Also included on the list were Detroit Lakes High School graduates Ashley Breitzman, Fargo (exercise science, pre-physical therapy); Emily Greene, Moorhead (mathematics education); Erika Jenson, Moorhead (music education); Matthew Lundstrom, Fargo (accounting); Kaitlyn Murphy, Perham (early childhood education) and Madyson Webber, Fargo (elementary inclusive education); Frazee-Vergas High School graduates Colton Bakkila, Perham (physical education, health education), Grant Jepson, Moorhead (exercise science, pre-chiropractic) and Madelaine Jepson, Moorhead (psychology); as well as Lake Park-Audubon High School graduate Megan Hilfer, Park Rapids (elementary inclusive education, early childhood education).

To qualify for dean's list honors at MSUM, students must be in degree-seeking status and maintain a 3.25 or higher grade point average while completing a minimum of 12 graded credits for the semester.

Two DL students on dean's list at St. Scholastica

DULUTH - Jordan Lundberg and Olivia Mann, both of Detroit Lakes, were among those students named to the fall 2018 dean's list at the College of St. Scholastica in Duluth.

Both Mann and Lundberg are majoring in exercise physiology.

St. Scholastica dean's list members have achieved a 3.75 grade point average or above on a 4.0 scale.

Lake Park student earns chancellor's award at UW-Stout

MENOMONIE (Wis.) - Clay Anderson, Lake Park, has earned the University of Wisconsin-Stout Chancellor's Award for the fall 2018 semester.

The award is presented to students who have a grade point average of 3.5 or above. Enrollment for the fall semester at UW-Stout was 8,748.

Area students on dean's list at UMC

CROOKSTON - Several area students were named to the fall semester 2018 dean's list at the University of Minnesota Crookston (UMC).

Among them were agricultural education student Myla Lewis of Lake Park; agricultural business student Sabrina Rux of Frazee; and biology student Heidi Wilhelm of Detroit Lakes.

To qualify for a place on the dean's list at UMC, students must complete 12 or more letter-graded (A-F) credits while attaining a 3.66 grade point average.