Wolf Lake celebrates 37th Harvest Fest

The community of Wolf Lake celebrated its 37th annual Harvest Festival this past Friday and Saturday, Aug. 20-21, with events ranging from a 5k walk/run to a bean bag toss.

Wolf Lake Royalty 2021.jpg
Winners of the Miss Wolf Lake Pageant were crowned on the opening night of the 2021 Wolf Lake Harvest Festival on Friday, Aug. 20. This year's royalty includes (front row, left to right) Wolf Lake Little Princess Amelia Hrdlicka and Little Miss Wolf Lake Lydia Budzie; (back row) Wolf Lake Jr. Princess Alexis Davidson, Wolf Lake Princess Kaiden Langford, Miss Wolf Lake Desarae Kohrs and Jr. Miss Wolf Lake Gillian Pope. (Submitted photo)

Wolf Lake's 37th annual Harvest Festival was held this past weekend, with a plethora of events held between Friday, Aug. 20 and Saturday, Aug. 21.

Winners of Friday night's Miss Wolf Lake Pageant were: Desarae Kohrs, Miss Wolf Lake; Kaiden Langford, Miss Wolf Lake Princess; Gillian Pope, Jr. Miss Wolf Lake; Alexis Davidson, Wolf Lake Jr. Princess; Lydia Budzien, Little Miss Wolf Lake; and Amelia Hrdlicka, Wolf Lake Little Princess.

5k runners and WL royalty.jpeg
Wolf Lake's 2021 royalty came out to congratulate the winners of the Harvest Festival 5K Walk/Run on Saturday morning, Aug. 21. (Submitted photo)

Winners of Saturday morning's 5K walk/run were: Emily Skoog, Wolf Lake-24:55 (fastest overall); Grady Anderson, 7, Wolf Lake-25.35, Silas Aho, 8, Wolf Lake-29:30, and Darius Aho, 6, Wolf Lake-32.15 (male age 9 and under); Bodin Anderson, 10, Wolf Lake-27:38, and Anton Anderson, 11, Wolf Lake, 27:39 (male ages 10-14); Lydia Aho, 10, Wolf Lake-41:33, and Kylie Anderson, 11, Wolf Lake-41:33 (female ages 10-14); Nick Skoog, 32, Wolf Lake-27:10 (male ages 30-39); Emily Skoog, 32, Wolf Lake-24:55, Morgan Anderson, 31, Wolf Lake-25:03, and Amanda Aho, 34, Wolf Lake-41:32 (female ages 30-39); Carl Peterson, 57, Menahga-29:48 (male age 40 and up).


Winners of the kids' pedal tractor pull were as follows:

  • Five years old: First place, Colton Sayer; second place, Amelia Hrdlicka; and third place, Gail Aho.
  • Six years old: First place, Matilda Skoog; second place, Samuel Aho; and third place, Emery Aho.
  • Seven years old: First place, Flynn Yliniemi; second place, Celia Issacson.
  • Eight years old: First place, Everett Aho; second place, Hunter Edwards; and third place, Raina Anderson.
  • Nine years old: First place, Alaina Davidson.
  • Ten years old: First place, Layne Kumpula; second place, Bodin Anderson; and third place, Rafe Aho.
  • Eleven years old: First place, Anton Anderson; second place, Olivia Budza.

Winners of the coloring contest were: Armor Skoog (ages 1-3); Reyna Aho (ages 4-6); Holly Aho (ages 7-9); and Melanie Vonada (ages 10-12).

Bean Bag Toss Winners.jpeg
The team of Ryan Sharp and Dan Warmbold came out on top at the bean bag toss held during Wolf Lake's 37th annual Harvest Festival on Saturday, Aug. 21. (Submitted photo)

Winners of the bean bag toss (two-person teams) were: Ryan Sharp and Dan Warmbold, first place; Dustin Burkman and Harv Burkman, second place; Nate Peterson and Carl Peterson, third place.

Obstacle Course Winners.jpeg
Wolf Lake's 2021 Harvest Festival royalty came out to congratulate the winners of the kids' obstacle course on Saturday, Aug. 21. (Submitted photo)

Winners of the kids' obstacle course were: Drew Aho, 14, Frazee-0:59 (first place); Daniel Olson, 13, Menahga-1:23, second place; and Miles Alajoki, 12, Menahga-1:36, third place.

Mud Run winners were as follows:


  • 35-inch tire and bigger: Dave Kriens, Menahga, 0:12-first place; Jesse Flath, New York Mills, 117 feet-second place; Donovan Jahnke, Frazee-116 feet, third place.
  • 34-inch tire and smaller: Jeff Felt, Osage, 0:29-first place; Steve Luedke, Menahga-1:00-second place; Craig Hansen, 126 feet-third place.

Raffle winners included the following: John Laitinen, $500 (first place); Gary Harvala, $250 (second place); Chris May, $100 (third place); Bobby Jager, $50 (fourth place); Nikki Clancy, $50 (fifth place); Darwin Feldt, $25 (sixth place); and Melinda Davidson, $25 (seventh place).
Finders of this year's Susi Jarvi Charm were Jade Skoog, Shanna Skoog and Layne Kumpula. For more information visit .

A reporter at Detroit Lakes Newspapers since relocating to the community in October 2000, Vicki was promoted to Community News Lead for the Detroit Lakes Tribune and Perham Focus on Jan. 1, 2022. She has covered pretty much every "beat" that a reporter can be assigned, from county board and city council to entertainment, crime and even sports. Born and raised in Madelia, Minnesota, she is a graduate of Hamline University, from which she earned a bachelor's degree in English literature (writing concentration). You can reach her at
What To Read Next
Get Local