The Detroit Lakes Area League of Women Voters announced that it will host a bipartisan Town Hall Meeting with legislators representing Becker on Monday, April 10. The events will take place in the Forest Conference Center at Ecumen Detroit Lakes, 1415 Madison Avenue, beginning at 6:30 p.m. with a reception. The forum will begin at 7 p.m. This event is free and open to the public.

Legislators who have confirmed their participation are Dist. 4B Rep. Paul Marquart, Dist. 4 Sen. Kent Eken and Rep. Steve Green of Dist. 2B and Sen. Paul Utke of Sen. Dist. 2. The Town Hall will be moderated by Sharon Sinclair, a longtime League member and moderator. Attendees will have the opportunity to directly ask their questions of any and all legislators. Questions must be focused on issues and not personal in nature. For those not able to attend in person, questions and comments may be submitted via email to

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

A video of the forum will be posted on YouTube with a link on the DL League's Facebook page shortly after the forum concludes.

The League of Women Voters has a 98-year tradition of nonpartisan voter education and does not endorse political parties or candidates for office. Legislative Town Halls are designed to foster civil dialogue on the issues the local community cares most about. The Town Hall format allows for attendees to voice their concerns, ask questions and express their opinions on a wide variety of topics.

"At a time when political polarization is at its most extreme, the Detroit Lakes Area League of Women Voters is working to bring people of all points of view together in a dialogue that is respectful and aimed at finding common ground," noted president Cyndi Anderson. "The League believes that legislators have a duty and obligation to report back to constituents in a way that is accessible to all."

Sen. Eken and Rep. Marquart represent the City of Detroit Lakes, Lakeview, Lake Eunice and Cormorant Townships in Becker County. Sen. Utke and Rep. Green represent all of rural Becker County, Park Rapids, Lake Park and Audubon.

Sen. Eken serves on the Aging and Long-Term Care Policy, Agriculture, Rural Development and Housing Policy and Finance Committees and the Capital Investment Committee.

Rep. Marquart sits on the Education Finance, Taxes, Property Tax and Local Government Finance Division and Ways and Means Committees.

Sen. Paul Utke is on the Human Services Reform Finance and Policy, Commerce and Consumer Protection Finance and Policy, E-12 Policy, Health and Human Services and Jobs and Economic Growth Finance and Policy Committees.

Dist. 2B Rep. Steve Green sits on the Agriculture Finance, Environment and Natural Resources Policy and Finance, Legacy Funding Finance and State Government Finance Committees. For more information, please contact Voter Service Chair Terry Kalil at or 218 341-0452.