DL's Roach earns $3,000 scholarship to attend M State

ST. PAUL - Detroit Lakes' James Roach was among 10 students attending classes at colleges and universities across Minnesota to earn a $3,000 campus scholarship from the Affinity Plus Foundation.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

Six scholarships are awarded by the foundation to provide support to Affinity Plus Credit Union members in the campus communities that Affinity Plus serves across Minnesota; four "at large" scholarships are also awarded to Affinity Plus members enrolled part or full time and in good academic standing at any accredited community or technical college in Minnesota.

Scholarship recipients shared a strong desire to keep debt at a manageable level, develop good savings habits, and prepare for for the future.

"Raising the awareness of preparing for the future (i.e., retirement planning) is something I believe everyone my age will benefit from," says Roach, who is a freshman at Minnesota State Community & Technical College, majoring in architectural drafting and design.

Frazee's Wing graduates at St. Scholastica

DULUTH - Abby Wing, Frazee, has graduated Summa Cum Laude from The College of St. Scholastica with a Bachelor of Science degree in Nursing. St. Scholastica held its fall 2018 commencement ceremony on Saturday, Dec. 15 in the Reif Gymnasium on the college's campus in Duluth.

Lake Park's Seley on dean's list at Rochester College

ROCHESTER - Janai Seley, Lake Park, was among more than 600 students from Rochester Community and Technical College who made the dean's list for fall semester 2018, ending this past December.

Each semester, recognition is given to full-time RCTC students who achieve academic excellence; to qualify for the dean's list, a student must successfully complete 12 or more letter-graded credits, in the same semester, and achieve a grade point average between 3.0 and 3.74.

Local students named to MSUM dean's list

MOORHEAD - Several local students have been named to the Minnesota State University Moorhead dean's list in recognition of academic achievement during fall semester 2018.

Among those to qualify for the honor were the following (students listed by home town; fields of study in parentheses):

From Audubon: Charisma Francis (BFA, art); Lindsey Olson (physical education, health education, exercise science); and Hannah Sellin (speech, language and hearing science).

From Callaway: Lindsay Baker (elementary inclusive education).

From Detroit Lakes: Matthew Bergren (speech, language and hearing science); Ben Blanchard (project management); Lucas Clark Burnette (engineering physics); Kaitlynn Clark-Heinonen (finance); Amber Colby (elementary inclusive education); Emma Dahl (elementary inclusive education); Lisa Devine (elementary inclusive education); Austin Dodd (advertising); Hannah Eikren (social studies); Micaela Feldt (elementary inclusive education); Hunter Frank (elementary inclusive education); Van Fritch-Gallatin (elementary inclusive education); Hanna Gedrose (elementary inclusive education); Matthew Grubb (economics, social studies); Akyra Hagen (elementary inclusive education); Baylee Hedstrom (ecology and evolutionary biology, pre-veterinary science); Lindsay Heinecke (finance); Jenna Holmer (English, history); Na Yeon Kim (early childhood education); Katie Larson (psychology, criminal justice); Melissa Larson (speech, language and hearing science); Deandra Moen (criminal justice, sociology); Katrina Okeson (business administration); Maddisan Parsons (elementary inclusive education); Dorothy Pihlaja (advertising and public relations); Lexi Radermacher (art education, psychology); Jacob Richter (exercise science, psychology); Brittany Rislund (Finance, investment management certificate); Mason Sampson (psychology, sociology); Paula Schulz (elementary inclusive education); Sarah Schumacher (exercise science); Alyssa Sickles (graphic design, general studies); Grace Swenson (pre-pharmacy, chemistry); Victoria Tinjum (graphic design); Aleksandr Usovich (psychology); and Caleb Waller (graphic design).

From Frazee: Kaitlyn Borah (elementary inclusive education); Davis Baana (film production); Sierra Brolin (graphic communications); Audreana Fleisher (elementary inclusive education); Jaden Ketter (early childhood education); Madison Oswald (elementary inclusive education); Erica Ratz (social studies); Martin Thorp (international studies, political science); Austin Torma (construction management); Logan Wacker (project management); and Sapphire Watchorn (health and medical sciences).

From Lake Park: Nicole Bentley (art education); Christina Knutson (gerontology, social work); Kendra Leendertsen (theater arts); and Kayla Olson (social work).

From Ogema: Alexis Heisler (early childhood education).

From Osage: Jacob Clements (business administration); and Alexis Stevenson (social work).

From Ponsford: MaKayla Edwards (elementary inclusive education); and Gabriela French (paralegal, political science, pre-law).

From Rochert: Abigayle Skinner (business administration); and Kody Thronson (psychology, sociology).

From Waubun: Deondra Jackson (social work).

Also included on the list were Detroit Lakes High School graduates Ashley Breitzman, Fargo (exercise science, pre-physical therapy); Emily Greene, Moorhead (mathematics education); Erika Jenson, Moorhead (music education); Matthew Lundstrom, Fargo (accounting); Kaitlyn Murphy, Perham (early childhood education) and Madyson Webber, Fargo (elementary inclusive education); Frazee-Vergas High School graduates Colton Bakkila, Perham (physical education, health education), Grant Jepson, Moorhead (exercise science, pre-chiropractic) and Madelaine Jepson, Moorhead (psychology); as well as Lake Park-Audubon High School graduate Megan Hilfer, Park Rapids (elementary inclusive education, early childhood education).

To qualify for dean's list honors at MSUM, students must be in degree-seeking status and maintain a 3.25 or higher grade point average while completing a minimum of 12 graded credits for the semester.