Several Detroit Lakes School Board officers were re-elected to their positions at a special organizational meeting Monday night, Jan. 6, in the Detroit Lakes High School Media Center.

Board members unanimously voted to re-appoint Amy Erickson as board chairwoman, John Steffl as vice chairman and Kylie Johnson as secretary. Jennifer Pedersen was unanimously elected as treasurer (Jane Foltz had held that position last year).

The board also voted to keep their salaries at the same level as in 2019. Board members will once again receive $200 per day for attending regular and special board meetings as well as board work sessions. They will also receive $60 per day for attending any committee meetings, workshops, seminars, conventions, or other event at which they are representing the school district.

After the board’s organizational business was taken care of, architect Brian Berg of Zerr-Berg Architects and Detroit Lakes Public Schools Business Manager Ryan Tangen updated the board on the bid opening for construction of updates and additions at Detroit Lakes High School on Dec. 12, as well as where they stood with regard to financing for the project.

The board opted to not take any action on the bids until their regular meeting on Monday, Jan. 13. They also briefly discussed the school calendar for 2020-21, and gave the first reading to an updated school policy for graduation requirements. The second reading, and potential approval, are also expected to take place at the Jan. 13 meeting.