Catholic United Financial recently awarded scholarships to several local students who are headed to college or trade school this fall.

CUF scholarship award winners include Clare Nemec, Annika Hughes, Brianna Johnson, Matthew Andresen and Payton Schiltz, all of Detroit Lakes; and Sarah Kapphahn of Pelican Rapids.

Since 1955, Catholic United has supported more than 5,000 of our members with scholarships to help defray the costs of tuition and expenses of post-high school education. This year, the association awarded more than $150,000. Scholarship recipients range in age from 17 to 44 and will attend college, trade school or a diploma program in the fall of 2020. More details about this scholarship and Catholic United can be found at or by calling 800-568-6670.

Lake Park's Bjerke earns scholarship to attend NDSU

Tyler Bjerke, son of Matt and Skye Bjerke, Lake Park, recently received a $1,000 Development Foundation Honor Scholarship from North Dakota State University.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

The scholarship recognizes high academic achievement. Bjerke will enter NDSU in the fall and plans to major in crop and weed sciences. In high school, he was active in basketball, cross country, golf, trap shooting, National Honor Society, band and jazz band.

Detroit Lakes' Larson named to dean's list at UW-Superior

The University of Wisconsin-Superior has named Naomi Larson of Detroit Lakes to its dean's list for academic achievement during the spring 2020 semester.

To be named to the dean's list, students must have completed 12 degree-seeking semester credits and achieved at least a 3.50 grade point average (on a 4.0 scale).

Area students named to dean's list at NDSU

Several area residents were among the 4,206 North Dakota State University (NDSU) students to be placed on the spring 2020 dean’s list for academic achievement.

Those achieving this honor are listed below, alphabetically by hometown, with their respective majors shown in parentheses.

From Audubon: Justin J. Beck (Civil Engineering); Will Jacobson (Mechanical Engineering); Rileigh A. Leininger (Nursing); Carson M. Reep (Management Information Systems); Kaylee H. Swenson (Computer Science); and Ashley E. Thompson (Management Communication).

From Callaway: Megan B. Chromy (Manufacturing Engineering); and Kalie M. Steffl (Psychology).

From Detroit Lakes: Austin S. Askelson (Psychology); Bridget J. Bergen (University Studies); Katelyn M. Boehm (Nursing); Melissa A. Boit (Sociology); Maggie A. Buboltz (Marketing); Aaron J. Conklin (Mechanical Engineering); Emma E. Disse (Sport Management); Kassandra E. DuChene (Electrical Engineering); Claire C. Ellefson (Business Administration); Jenna R. Field (Pharmacy); Greta C. Fritz (Marketing); Ryan T. Genz (Civil Engineering); Josie M. Harrier (Statistics); Scott M. Heinecke (Civil Engineering); Madison C. Herzog (Business Administration); Alexis M. Hukriede (Pharmacy); Hannah A. Jacobson (Human Development and Family Science); Elizabeth J. Lembke (Psychology); Ellie A. Lunde (Nursing); Jonas J. Mickelson (Construction Management); Megan L. Noel (Microbiology); Reed R. Reller (Architecture); Grace C. Schulberg (Theatre Arts); Cara G. Seaberg (Undeclared); Lance J. Singer (Construction Management); Kaitlyn M. Stalberger (Pharmacy); Tucker J. Strawsell (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology); Melina M. Wendt (Health Services); and Addisyn S. Young (Microbiology).

From Frazee: Kiesha M. Dekarske-Riewer (Psychology); Mel C. Johnson (Pharmacy); Isabella M. Matejka (Nursing); Nathan L. Nguyen (Pharmacy); Brock M. Riewer (Pharmaceutical Sciences); and Daniel J. Willenbring (Computer Science).

From Lake Park: Rachel L. Grande (Pharmacy); Grace E. Highness (Biological Sciences); Samantha R. Magelky (Psychology); Bailey S. Mattson (Veterinary Technology); Baley L. Pederson (Pharmacy); Hannah A. Strom (Veterinary Technology); Tyler D. Todd (Criminal Justice); and Rachel M. Ullmer (Music).

From Menahga: Trinidy J. Beck (Accounting); Joseph I. Keranen (Civil Engineering); Dylan J. Miska (Computer Science); Grant E. Tolkkinen (Exercise Science); and Hailey E. Usher (Human Development and Family Science).

From Ogema: Jake A. Jenson (Animal Science).

From Osage: Ashley M. Laine (Nursing).

From Vergas: Hayley L. Courneya (Natural Resources Management); Isaac T. Courneya (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology); Jonathon C. Hoffmann (Mechanical Engineering); and Mackenzie A. Ostlie (Electrical Engineering).

A student must earn a 3.50 grade point average or higher and be enrolled in at least 12 class credits to qualify for the spring list.

Area students named to Crookston dean's list

Students named to the spring semester 2020 dean's list at the University of Minnesota Crookston were recently announced.

Among those local residents to achieve the honor were (majors listed in parentheses):

  • Paige Dahring, Detroit Lakes (Equine Science);
  • Karli Renney, Detroit Lakes (Communication);
  • Sabrina Rux, Frazee (Accounting);
  • Peyton Syverson, Waubun (Natural Resources).

To qualify for a place on the UMC dean's list, students must complete 12 or more letter-graded (A-F) credits while attaining a 3.66 grade point average.